We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dining experience!”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I dined here for my birthday. The service was outstanding! We were seated outside and the surroundings were beautiful. We were bothered a little with gnats, but were offered bug spray. Our food was absolutely delicious and the 12 layer coconut cake for dessert made my birthday the best ever! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful birthday dinner at Peninsula Grill. Thank you for celebrating with us. I too am a huge fan of our al fresco dining in the courtyard. Weather permitting, it is the only true garden dining in Charleston. Surrounded by the Planter's Inn it is a true oasis in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Thank you for your visit and review. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,669
    318
    117
    45
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coconut cake!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

No matter where we dine in Charleston, Peninsula Grill coconut cake and excellent coffee close the meal. Not to be missed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pawleyspelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for making Peninsula Grill a "must do" on your visits to Charleston. I know that you stop in specifically for the Ultimate Coconut Cake however I would like to challenge you to also try the Banana Panna Cota. It is unfortunately hidden in the shadows of the Ultimate Coconut Cake but equally worth the visit to Peninsula Grill. Thank you for your numerous visits. Welook forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mena. AR
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Best in Charleston”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were there for five days and it is the only place we went to twice! Food and service are spectacular! Not inexpensive but serving meals you will never forget. One of the highlights of Chraleston, for us!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
The best compliment a restaurant can receive is a return visit. With all of the amazing dining options that you have in Charleston that compliment only doubles. We are honored that you chose to dine at Peninsula Grill twice during your visit to Charleston. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your next visit to Charleston and Peninsula Grill.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place for a great meal!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I had our first dinner in Charleston here, last week. We booked a 7:00 pm reservation and arrived just a few minutes before. We requested an outdoor table, which is in a palm tree lined courtyard. Absolutely lovely and very romantic.
I ordered the duck, and it was the very best duck I ever had. My husband ordered the NY Strip and said it was just delicious and cooked to his liking.
The service was fantastic, as I found in many places in Charleston. The setting perfect, even the weather was fantastic! The inside bar, while small, was very pretty with low lights and a great relaxed feel.
I very highly recommend this place for dinner, especially an adult only or for couples.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deecee727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your visit to Peninsula Grill and your wonderful review. There is something very special about Peninsula Grill's Courtyard. It is an oasis in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Surrounded by the grace and charm of the Planters Inn it is a refined yet comfortable space. With Chef Dailey's cuisine and our professional service it guarantees a night to remember. We look forward to serving you again.

Best,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After living in Charleston for 15 years & seeing the restaurant scene boom over the last few, Peninsula Grill is still one of the top places to go. For special occasions, special guests or if you just want an elegant evening out, there's no place better. Service is friendly & professional, surroundings are beautiful & the food is fantastic. Splurge on the Lobster 3 Ways-heaven on a plate. Everything is prepared to look as good as it tastes. What they say about the coconut cake is true-awesome.
Get dressed up & go have a memorable time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for review and your continued patronage. Peninsula Grill recently celebrated it
s 17th year. We have watched many restaurants and many restaurant trends come and go. We however have remained true to ourselves. Offering the best ingredients, served properly, accentuating their flavors, Chef Dailey's menu is composed of ingredients sourced locally and from around the globe. Our service staff is composed of longstanding professionals that take great pride in their knowledge and service. Thank you for all of the compliments. We wouldn't be known as the place to dine with out the support of guests like you.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing