We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pan-roasted trout -- amazing!”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 938 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

It's my third night in Charleston and each dinner is better than the one before. Penninsula Grill takes the gold now! I had the pan roasted trout with browned butter and shaved brussel sprouts. Truly one of the best fish entrees I've ever had. Had the famed coconut cake for dessert (one enormous serving could probably feed 4) which was delicious too. The setting is lovely, warm, elegant, romantic. Excellent, friendly service, couldn't ask for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BGK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your visit to Peninsula Grill. From your review I gather that you are dining your way through Charleston. We are honored that you awarded us the "Gold" as the top restaurant in your culinary tour of Charleston. Peninsula Grill has long been known as the place to dine in Charleston. Charlestonians and visitors have found that the warm hospitality, impeccable service and Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine leaving them looking forward to their next visit. Thank you for all of your compliments. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,386 - 1,390 of 2,268 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

My lovely wife and I had dinner at this lovely fine dining restaurant in Charleston on a Monday night. At 8:00PM, every table was full, with every diner enjoying the continental menu offerings. The room is formal but not stuffy at all, much like the service staff. The menu is not overly ambitious, but includes all of the meat, fish, poultry and other entrees you would expect. Our meal consisted of a chopped salad with micro greens, golden beets, pecans and creamy goat cheese, with a light vinegrette dressing. It was properly chilled, refreshing and delicious. My entree was a blackened ribeye steak, cooked to medium perfection, properly charred, juicy and delicious. My wife ordered a fish special, "wreck fish", a local catch. Although advertised as a flaky white fish, it was actually a thick, meaty fish, with a strange texture, more like monkfish. While the texture was a little strange, it had a very pleasant taste, not fishy at all, especially when paired with the roasted tomato vinegrette sauce, a bed of corn succotash and roasted cauliflower florets. And for dessert, the Grill's famous 11 layer coconut cake, which tasted like biting into a coconut slathered with a sweet butter cream/sour cream icing. I found the cake to be a little on the heavy side. One piece was more than enough for two people. All in all, a very satisfying dinner in classy surroundings with true professionals taking care of every detail. Make a reservation to ensure that there is room at the Inn for you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank traveljunkienow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your visit and review of Peninsula Grill. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your evening so much. As you mention in your review, reserations are strongly suggested. Over the last 17 years we have focused on creating a dining experience that leaves our guests loking forward to their next visit. The combination of Chef Graham Dailey's exceptional cuisine and our professional service staff have made Peninsula Grill the place to dine in Charleston. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The short walk through the courtyard to the entry of Peninsula Grill gets your senses ready for an unbelievable experience. I wish the weather would have been warm enough to enjoy dinning outdoors, but the indoor atmosphere was just as lovely. The moment we walked in we had fabulous service - the pull out my chair & place the napkin on my lap type of service. While we waited for our entrées, we were offered a tasty bisque sample. The Seared New York Strip au Poivre, although great, was not the best steak I've ever had. If you enjoy seafood, those may be better options to have. Now, the Banana "Panna Cotta" Pudding was beyond anything I could have imagined. Plus, it's almost too pretty to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your visit to Peninsula Grill. We are thrilled that your evening and experience was "Remarkable"! Peninsula Grill has long been the dining destination of both Charlestonians and visitors to our city. Our longstanding and professional staff takes great pride in creating a memorable evening for our guests and giving them a reason to return. Thank you for taking the time to review Peninsula Grill

Best,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Love the dining and atmosphere for any occasion (business, couples, family/friends). Excellent customer service and coconut cake is good even as take home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Earlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of Peninsula Grill. Due to Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine, the service of our professional and knowledgeable service staff, Peninsula Grill has become the favorite of Charlestonians and visitors to our city alike. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Not only did the food exceed my expectations, but the service was amazing! Our waiter was Mark and he made the experience even more fantastic with his personality and professionalism. I was truly impressed. This is also a fine dining restaurant that doesn't skimp on portion size! I got the roasted duck and my husband got the New York steak. And I recommend both. This chef knows what he's doing! And the wine selection was fantastic to boot!

I plan to take my mom back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for visiting Peninsula Grill. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience through this review on TripAdvisor. Based on your review, Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine, Mark's professional and impecable service and the overall hospitality that you experience created a memorable evening for you. Experiences such as yours have created Peninsula Grill's reputation for being the place to dine in Charleston. We look forward to serving you again.


Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing