We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Total Splurge”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Total Splurge”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I had to make reservations at Peninsula Grill when we were visiting Charleston for the weekend. The reason was due to the famous coconut cake. We arrived and the place was just stunning. The service was excellent and the food - oh wow! We started with some of their warm bread and butter, next was Lobster 3-ways, following that, my beet salad, which was quite tasty and delicious. Hubs got the veal porterhouse and I got the ribeye - both were cooked to perfection. To end the perfect evening, we split the coconut cake and every bite was just as mouth-watering as the last. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank li5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review of your visit to Peninsula Grill. I am thrilled that you enjoyed everything so much. Chef Graham Dailey and his staff's attention to every detail is evident in every bite. I look forward to your visit when next visiting Charleston.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,691
    320
    120
    47
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went to P.G. for Mother's day dinner and had an almost perfect experience. The location is in the center of downtown Charleston and is beautifully decorated inside and charming outside.(there is outside seating for small parties...very romantic)... The table is nicely set and though the server was extremely accomodating and gracious, they were badly understaffed for a busy holiday dinner. It was graduation weekend for many of the colleges as well as Mother's day and extra staff should have been a no brainer... The food was "mostly" excellent but someone had a heavy hand with the salt shaker and that took away from what could have been terrific dishes. The fois gras appetizer was especially wonderful and had many levels of flavors without being swamped by the salt issue. The steak tartar appetizer was also excellent but was served on toast points that were drowned in salt..not needed since the meat was terrific and was overpowered by the salty toast. Our guest ended up removing the tartar from the toast and eating it wiithout. - Those who ordered steaks were very happy though they said the mushroom grits also were over salted. Of the three soups in the trio, only one stood out but it was on target: corn bisque with lobster. The scallops, which were expensive were also oversalted and the sweet taste of this delicacy could not be enjoyed. The sauce they were in was excellent ... Why do chefs feel they need to drown things in salt when they make good food... That is what the shaker on the table is for. The chocolate desert was very good. The service problem came between courses when we had to wait way too long for someone to remove the empty plates and when we asked for someone to do that, we were told they couldnt do that until they had enough people to remove all at once...That made us sit with dirty plates for far longer than we should have. We were not in a hurry for the courses to arrive but having to wait for the dirty plates to be removed are a pet peeve. All in all, we had a lovely time and a mostly great experience. Just need some better planning for crowded times and take the salt away from the sous chef. (btw, there is a children's menu which is not usual for a fine dining restaurant)...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stealtherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for the review and the critique of your visit. Charleston as a whole does errupt when there are special events like the college of Charleston graduation. I assure you that we had a full staff on for this past weekend. I do apologise that the staff member that you spoke to didn't give a better explination and better service to you. We do, appropriately, wait until all guests at a table are finished with a course before removing it. With larger parties sometimes this causes a long pause because one guest is on a seperate pace from the rest of the group. We do then clear the table in unison. I am happy that the rest of your evening was enjoyed by you and your guests. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Two words: Coconut Cake”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Folks, based on the reviews, you can obviously have a fantastic dinner here. However, if your dinner dance card is already filled or you couldn't get a table here, do what we did. We had a fantastic dinner at one if Charleston's other restaurants but came to the bar for dessert and drinks. Get the coconut cake. Trust me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GE1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for the resounding endorcement of our Ultimate Coconut Cake. It is a delicious and decadent treat that should not be missed when you visit Charleston. We try our best to make it available for you to enjoy. You can order a cake on our wesite and have it delivered to your door. You can come into the restaurant and take a slice with you to enjoy starting at 8 A.M. We serve slices of the cake for breakfast. You can enjoy a slice after a wonderful meal at Peninsula Grill or less preferably you can come after dining elsewhere.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“High end service”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Always on our list, we finally dined here on graduation week-end. Outstanding, attentive service and excellent food. A great overall experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ejonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for making Peninsula Grill a requirement when you visit Charleston. It is due to our focus and passion for Food and Service that we have become a favorite of so many. Thank you for the review. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A restauranteur's restaurant”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've had the good fortune to travel Europe and the US and eat in some fine restaurants. I've also worked in the business so in addition to enjoying the food, i enjoy observing how a restaurant performs and folks, this place performs! The food, wine and desert selections are absolutely wonderful. I had dinner in a group of 15 and everyone raved about their meals. But in addition to the wonderful food and ambiance, watching this restaurant perform was a pure joy. From the kitchen to the waiters and the dining room manager, this group performed like a well trained professional world class team. Each person at the table was served at the same time, whether there are 2 customers or 20, meals are placed on the table within seconds of each other and always in front of the right person. The waiters and dining room manager are extremely observant of what's happening at each table and meet your needs without intrusion or interuption. Can't say enough, truely fine dining at it best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your visit to Peninsula Grill. We are fortunate to have a very passionate and dedicated staff. Our service staff is seasoned and because of their commitment se are able to serve guests in unison and cater to each guests needs. The passion of Chef Graham Dailey for cuisine and service is evedent in each member of the kitchen. The focus is on quality, ingredients and preparation. This dedication and detemination in our staff has made Peninsula Grill the place to dine in Charleston. We look forward to serving you again.



Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing