We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent breakfast”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 938 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

They serve breakfast starting at 8am. It was pretty good, but it is not as good as the Biltmore Inn or other high end hotel breakfasts. I only had the continental though, so the omelettes might be great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Billygoat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for joining us for Breakfast. We do serve a wonderful continental starting at 7 A.M. on the weekdays and 8 P.M. on the weekends. We also feature a breakfast menu with Shrimp and Grits, Omelettes, Corn Beef Hash, and of course the Ultimate Coconut Cake. Thank you for your review, we hope to serve you again soon.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,647 - 1,651 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

I'm the quintessential fat kid who loves cake and a huge fan the TV show "Throw-down with Bobby Flay" on the Food Network. So when I saw Peninsula Grill featured on Iron Chef Bobby Flay's show, I knew this was an obvious destination for my Charleston trip as it's home to the world renowned 12 layered coconut cake.

I had to jump through a few hoops to sample this delectable treat since my husband and I were only in town for a few hours, but after sampling a slice of heaven all my problems seemed to disappear. The cake itself was so incredibly moist and decadent, without tasting heavy and the frosting was so creamy. I especially loved the coconut flakes on the exterior of the cake- absolutely delightful.

Okay, but here's the real question... How do i attain such a masterpiece without a reservation?! and my friend... I have the answer!
1. They are not open for lunch, but this does not mean that you cannot buy cake. While the restaurant is closed to the public, you can walk in and pick up a slice to-go
2. They will box it up nicely for you and give you a beautiful Peninsula Grill bag
3. A slice is about $12, a whole cake is about $100 (16 slices I believe)

Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your determination and dedication to trying the Ultimate Coconut Cake. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it so much. You did a wonderful job of describing the cake, it's size, flavor and the best time to get a slice to go. The only thing that was missed was the fact that we sell it and ship it through our website. I hope that you choose to join us for dinner on your next visit. I believe that the Ultimate Coconut Cake tastes best after a meal expertly prepared and served by Peninsula Grill's wonderful staff.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Charleston's restaurant scene has exploded over the past few years and there is no lack of awesome places to have great meals in the city. That being said, if your looking for that special night out or a special dinner spot, my vote still goes with the Peninsula Grill. First and foremost the service here is some of the best in the city from my experience and they are the definition of courteous and professional. The menu is elegant south and they deliver. The setting is a formal dining room with a gracious(not large) bar area up front that is almost always full. The food is prepared damn near perfectly and they have a great wine list as well. As others have already said, if your looking for a special night out, this is it! Spend the money and you will not be disappointed! PS: They have a great garden patio outside to sit on when the weather cooperates, especially when its dusk or dark.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerzdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review. Peninsula Grill is the place to dine while in Charleston because of the three items you point out in your gracious review. Service, Menu (cuisine), and Setting. But as you point out in your review, none of this would matter if we didn't deliver on all aspects at the same time. Charleston does have a wonderful collection of restaurants. We thank you for choosing Peninsula Grill.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

One of the best restaurants I have eaten at. Service was impeccable. Food was amazing. Have the oyster stew!!!!!! My wife and I could not be more effusive in our praise of the restaurant. It was great sitting under the portrait of a young John Calhoun minus a digit.
Spend the money - it is worth it!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jmwzawza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for visiting Peninsula Grill and writing such a wonderful review. The Low Country Oyster Stew is a definitely on the list of must tries at Peninsula Grill. Thank you for the endorsement and all of the compliments. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant was special in service and food. The waiters went out of their way to address us by name most every time they asked a question. All of the dishes were extraordinary. I highly recommend this restaurant.

1  Thank Luv2travel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for the strong recommendation. Peninsula Grill strives with every service to make each guest's experience exceptional. With Chef Graham Dailey's wonderful cuisine and service to match it is understandable why Peninsula Grill is the place to dine while in Charleston.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing