We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Luxury Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 898 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Luxury Experience”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The chef is known for his soups and coconut cake, but deserves much more recognition for his excellent handling of low country seafood and produce with a slight French twist. The service is professional and attentive. The wine list is among the best in town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Chef Graham Dailey and his staff rival any kitchen in the South East when we are discussing the quality of ingredients used and the care and passion that is used in the preperation of our menu. Charleston is blessed with abundent and amazing seafood, shellfish and produce. Chef Dailey complimants these local offerings with the best ingredients from around the globe. Our service staff is passionate and longstanding. Our wine program is directed by Dennis Perry and is certainly one of a kind. These items combine into making Peninsula Grill the place to dine in Charleston. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,637
    310
    115
    45
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal ever!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was one of the best meals I have ever had! 5 star all the way. The good was perfect and the wine list was extensive. I would have liked to had all night to study the list and pick out a wine but the manager came over to help us chose. The famous coconut cake is delicious. I can't say enough good things...you just have to try it yourself!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beanie8866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are thrilled that you had your "best meal ever" at Peninsula Grill. Chef Graham Dailey and his staff of culinary professionals create amazing dishes. The ingredients that we source are the best available, from local sources as well as sources around the globe. The pride and passion that is found in the kitchen at Peninsula Grill translates into pride and passion in our service staff. Our extensive wine list is manages by Dennis Perry, our full time Sommelier. His knowledge is passed through our longstanding service staff. Our focus is to deliver the "best meal ever" 365 days a year. Thank you for your compliments.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a place for conversation.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This one-room restaurant has both good food and service. I would avoid it, however, if you plan to visit with each other while dining. We found it to be both loud and noisy. Intimate, it's not.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Couponpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of Peninsula Grill. I am sorry that you found the dining room a little louder than you prefer. Peninsula Grill has been known as the place to dine in Charleston for the past 15 years. Due to that reputation and the overwhelming support of return guests we are an energetic restaurant. Our cuisine and service is the best in Charleston. We hope to serve you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Might be the best meal EVER.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Absolutely delicious. Had the scallops, which were divine. Husband had the lamb, equally so. Don't miss the coconut cake. I was not a coconut cake person, but this made me one. We will definitely return. Also a great wine list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank girlfriend49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I think that you should hurry back and solidify that "Best meal EVER". Thank you for the compliments and praise. Peninsula Grill is fortunate to have an amazing staff of culinary and service professionals. It makes the difference and shows. Peninsula Grill is regarded as the place to dine in Charleston because of our passion. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food but cramped seating”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time to Charleston - went for 2 things - history and food. Great meal prepared by the chef. Definitely 5 star quality. We ate several other restaurants as well this one was in the top 2 or 3. Likes it enough to find the local book store and buy the cookbook. Looking forward to re-creating some of our meal at home for visitors.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dragonmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the review and high recommendations. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much that you bought a cookbook. Chef Dailey worked diligently for a year on the cookbook while running the kitchen. "Served with Style" celebrates Peninsula Grill, its cuisine, story and staff. It is a great read as well as a beautiful example of culinary art. You wouldn't have had to find a bookstore though. we sell them on our website right next to the Coconut Cake which was just featured in Vogue. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing