We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 951 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went for New Years Eve. Delicious food, unpretentious staff (surprising given its high price point).

The foie gras was melt in your mouth good, and of course the coconut cake was as advertised!

2  Thank citysearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. While we are very proud of many things, however we hope that we are never pretentious. In the kitchen Chef Dailey focuses on sourcing only the best ingredients from local and global producers. Our service staff focuses on each guest, trying to add to their experience. Peninsula Grill looks at the small details to make sure that every guest at every table has a reason to return. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateuax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,807 - 1,811 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

I enjoyed a wonderful New Year's Eve at the bar of Peninsula Grill. The service was excellent, the drinks were perfect, and the food was an experience in itself. The highlight of the meal was poached lobster with caviar, served next to a NY strip with foie gras. I also had a scallop appetizer that I could eat every day for the rest of my life. It was seared to perfection with a unique accompaniment of black truffles and caper mousse. As a local, my New Year's resolution is to eat at Peninsula Grill more often! Thank you to the chefs and staff for serving me the best dining experience possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank FayeLeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

I hope that you are able to keep you New Years resolution! We are all thrilled that you had such a memorable evening to ring in the New Year. We abandon our dinner menu once a year and Chef Graham Dailey and his staff create an array of amazing delights for our New Years Eve celebration. It is truly a food lovers dream. Thank you for the review and we will see you soon.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Three nights in Charleston and we wanted to eat at 3 of the town's top-rated restaurants. The Peninsula Grill in the Planter's Inn opposite the downtown market was one of our choices based on reviews here on TA. Admittedly I had some misgivings thinking "tourist trap." We had a great dinner in the understatedly elegant main dining room. Mark, our server, was attentive and friendly and recommended an excellent wine match for my lovely dining companion's entree (and not the most expensive of the two wines under consideration). The lamb was excellent. When I noted that my salmon order was undercooked, the kitchen quickly sent out a new perfectly cooked filet. As for the desert, the signature Banana “Panna Cotta” Pudding is one of the best deserts we have ever shared. All-in-all, a great evening. Worth getting dressed up for a special evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank martyb-tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for spending a "special night" with us. Mark and the rest of our service staff truly make a remarkable difference in your dining experience. Our staff has dedicated themselves to the art of service and each of them have a passion for their craft. This passion is found throughout Peninsula Grill. Our culinary team, lead by Chef Graham Dailey, is equally passionate about the cuisine that we serve. We source only the finest ingredients from local sources and from around the globe. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had dinner here a day after Christmas because we could not get in for Christmas it was well worth the wait, great service and excelient food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BobSharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for joining us for an after Christmas dinner. I am thrilled that it was worth the wait. We appreciate the lovely review and high marks. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was a fantastic place for my 50th birthday dinner. Service and food was great. My husband had the steak and thought it was one of the best he has ever had, I would definitly recommend.

Thank AandAinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Happy Birthday! Thank you for celebrating such a memorable event with us. We are thrilled that everything was so perfect for your celebration. Our cuisine and service are the reason that Peninsula Grill is the place to dine in Charleston. We look forward to celebrating with you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing