We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 938 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The service was excellent as was the food. Unfourtnately I had a cold so I couldn't enjoy it as much as I wanted to, but I would still recommend it to anyone.

1  Thank danbwilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for such a glowing review. I am sorry that you didn't feel well during you visit. You will have to confirm your wonderful experience with a return visit. I promise that the food, ambiance, and service will all improve if you are feeling 100%. We do look forward to your return.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,830 - 1,834 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife is a very picky eater, and has a very narrow list of things she likes. The service was terrific. The place was small by well appointed. The food was unbelievable! My wife had the chicken, I had the shrimp dish, she had the coconut cake (which apparently wins awards) i had the banan pudding desert - which may be the best desert I have ever had. It is a bit pricy, but i would say in line with what you should expect from an upscale restaurant. I would recommend this to everyone... make sure you make a reservation...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maryandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you and your wife had such a lovely evening at Peninsula Grill. One of the most amazing things about Chef Graham Dailey's menu is its diversity. Even the most discerning eaters are able to find dishes made with the best ingredients sourced locally and from around the globe. Our service staff is able to guide our guests through the menu and make suggestions based on dietary needs or preferences, Our Ala Cart section of the menu lets our guests design their perfect meal complete with local vegetables and complimentary sauces prepared ala minute. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have eaten at the Peninsula Grill over 5 times and never been disappointed. The service is excellent and the food very very good. The atmosphere is super but last week it was very loud for some reason. Drinks were ok, and the wine list impressive. Take lots of money, but its worth it for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank herb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for making Peninsula Grill your place to dine while visiting Charleston. We are honored that so many people, like yourselves, go out of their way to dine at Peninsula Grill. It is a credit to our dedication and focus on delivering the complete experience to each one of our guests. The food under the direction of Chef Graham Dailey has never been better. Our longstanding service staff is passionate and knowledgeable. Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to your sixth evening at Peninsula Grill.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We loved the food! Nice atmosphere and really tasty food. One of the best restautrants I've ever visited.

Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

"Awesome" is quite the compliment. It makes your experience at Peninsula Grill larger than life. Epic maybe. It is definitely the feeling that we want all of our guests to experience. We are honored to be one of the "Best Restaurants" you have visited. We hope that you make Peninsula Grill a frequent visit. Thank you for the amazing review.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Want a perfect ending to a night out? Stop by the Peninsula Grill and have a slice of the Coconut Cake! It's twelve layers of sin.... The dining here is outstanding and have never had a bad meal. However, we often just drop by for a slice of cake after we've had dinner at one of the many great places in Charleston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spiderelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for the review of the cake. Pastry Chef Claire Chapman and her staff create wonderful and decadent treats, from hand crafted icecreams and sorbets to the Banana Panna Cotta and of course the Coconut Cake, that are the perfect end to an evening out. However as you stated "Dining here is outstanding" and "you never had a bad meal". Thank you for such a wonderful recommendation of Peninsula Grill.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing