We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation Dinner Night Out”
Review of Anson Restaurant

Anson Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Anson Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,015 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Our multi-generation family vacation has been on Kiawah Island 27 years, while we have eaten at many restaurants in Charleston, this was our first time at Anson. We were very impressed. The Decor has a very cosy feel, but with plenty of room for our table of 9. The wait staff was knowledgeable about the menu, and very attentive. The food was outstanding. We started with raw oysters, calamari, and the green fried tomatoes, all were very tasty. 3 had the filet, 2 the crispy flounder, 1 the sea bass, 1 shrimp & pasta. Two of our party split the 22 oz rib eye. Every meal was just so delicious, we were all sharing tastes. We will definitely be returning to Anson Restaurant next year!!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank O9332NMwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 766 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant when going on a carriage ride. We are so happy we did. We looked at the menu posted in the window and immediately cancelled another reservation and reserved for dinner tonight. We arrived a little early but were seated promptly. We chose a bottle of wine from a very nice wine list. We ordered fried green to tomatoes and deviled eggs as appetizers. Both were delicious but the tomatoes were the best we have ever tasted. She ordered the filet and I the catfish . Both were excellent!! The fish was tasty prepared Cajun style. The filet was omg the best she’s ever had. I tatted and I agree. We finished with banana cream pie and it was homemade and delicious as well. This just became our favorite Charleston restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 406billm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

The charm in this restaurant spills out the front door! White table clothes but not stuffy. We had on street clothes as tourist and were treated like kings! There are several dishes served as small plates which I appreciated. We shared several and all were delicious and gave us a chance to taste lots of southern cuisine. The fried green tomatoes were superb!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank jjmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

This was referred to us by a bell hop / valet service of Double Tree. The service at this restaurant was outstanding! The food was out of this world! I would definitely go here again and would recommend it!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

I am not a local but I found out this is where the locals go. Try the Smoky shrimp and grits. Best ever!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joequaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anson Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Anson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing