We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice”
Review of Anson Restaurant

Anson Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Anson Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Smithfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

On a recent visit to Charleston, my wife and I had an opportunity to dine at Anson. This was a memorable dining experience, both in terms of the chef's offerings and the restaurant's service. I had the crispy whole flounder with apricot sauce and my wife had seared scallops. These were paired with an excellent wine. The food was on par with best that we have had served in any restaurant. In addition to its historic charm, Charleston is becoming noteworthy for the excellence of its cuisine and Anson is emblematic of the best restaurants it has to offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    140
    40
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Charleston”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food was outstanding and my wife and I agree that Anson's shrimp and grits were the food highlight of our trip. All of the food was delicious including the desserts (I recommend the key lime pie). Service was top notch too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scfogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUT OF THIS WORLD GOOD!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was amazed at the food at Anson's...it was OUT. OF. THIS. WORLD. I'm very picky and find it hard to be impressed by food. I WAS IMPRESSED. I took my mom there for her birthday and was not disappointed. I ordered their special (Tilefish) but didn't want the sides that came with it, and they were helpful in making the switch for me without complaints. The Tilefish was pan-seared with a light crust on the outside and the fish was buttery and moist. The sides were sauteed squash, zucchini and potatoes with a pesto puree...AMAZING!! Then for dessert they provided my mom with home made vanilla bean ice cream. One of the best ice creams I've ever had!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get the she crab soup”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were really tired when we stumbled through the door of Anson's. We wanted healthful food and good food, and it looked like Anson's might fit the bill. In addition, we wanted healthful food for the vegetarian in the group. Very attentive waiter, so that was appreciated. He provided his favorites and we selected quite a few of them. The golden beet salad, the caesar salad with fried oysters and the fried green tomatoes were good, maybe very good. But the She Crab Soup and the collard greens were Delish!! I could eat the soup EVERYDAY!!! The only let down were the grits-I make better, but really I shouldn't have ordered them anyway. We will go back. It was so nice to escape from the street noise and relax in a quality restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LStravels0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Elegant southern dining”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great food, excellent, knowledgeable service. I had an appetizer special that was grilled octopus. It was delicious. The garnish was pea sprouts. Had not tasted before & loved them. Wish I knew where to find them. 2 of us ordered the Duck Confit as our entree. It was excellent. Served with a sweet potato cream & farro. The farro was a special treat since I normally never eat grains. It was worth it! My only disappointment was that they didn't have espresso & I couldn't find a dessert that I thought was high value to try. Would definitely recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anson Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Anson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing