We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 36th Anniversary”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 16 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our 36th Anniversary”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

They initially wanted to seat us in front of the window at a 2 topper. We asked if we could be seated elsewhere, they graciously accommodated us and sat us in one of the booths. Our server Andrew was on spot all night. We enjoyed a phenomenal meal once again. We splurged and enjoyed a wonderful night. Thank you for a fantastic evening. Oysters casino is my favorite, my husband had smoked salmon appetizer, Andrew picked a bottle of wine to pair with our entre's that was dead on. My entre was seafood a la Wando with yummy! My husband had roasted grouper with English peas and lobster risotto and a butter jus, we topped the meal off with a glass of B&B. We will be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Wonderful! Thank you for joining us for your special occasion. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening at Hank's. Andy sends his regards. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,937
    767
    314
    77
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Classic Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very impressive large open restaurant concept when you walk in. White linen tables with classic white coat servers. Beautiful wooden bar area. Great, friendly, attentive bartenders. I had a strawberry Brazilian Caipriniha cocktail hand crafted and delish. The boiled shrimp and raw oysters were huge and super flavorful. Gorgeous place, lively, impeccable service, wonderful seafood, tasty drinks. A must visit if you are looking for an upscale experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RVARAKSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your evening at Hank's and appreciate the kind words about our food, service, and cocktails. Please join us again on your next visit to Charleston. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was not our first visit to Hank's and it won't be our last! It is truly the best seafood in Charleston. In this party of four, everyone raved. My lobster was sweet and tender and it was offered at a reasonable price. Our server, Greg D., was not only top notch....he made visit our visit lots of fun.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChipBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you Chip! Glad to hear you've enjoyed your time with us on each occasion. Greg says hello and thank you for the 5 star review. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
400 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Hank's was recommended to us by a friend and I'm glad we took their advice! It's fantastic! Some of the best seafood I've ever had. Service was wonderful. The kale, avocado and heirloom tomato salad (which was a special that night) was out of this world. Definitely book ahead! We had a 6pm reservation and by the time we got our drinks and bread, the place had filled up!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bucks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Excellent! Thank you for the great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your evening with us. Please join us again on your next visit. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,175 reviews
1,169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I enjoy a dining adventure where it is easy to see that near perfection is going on and you are in the middle of it. I did not witness a miscue from any of the staff. The room was packed and the restaurant was firing on all cylinders. I started with Charleston Sea Crab soup, a dozen assorted oysters was next, and a tuna small plate was the finale. All were excellent. Reservations are a good idea. There is a first come first serve table, which seats 16, and all chairs stay occupied. I can not wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4bird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for the kind review. We are definitely a busy restaurant and have a staff that loves making our guests smile night in and night out. From the amount of restaurants you have reviewed, this is quite an honor. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Charleston. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing