We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem close to the Market”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 947 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 16 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were referred to Hank's by our innkeepers at the Andrew Pinckney Inn and in addition to the fact that it was right next door, Hank's was a great find! They were able to squeeze us in early on a very busy Friday night and we were not disappointed. One member of our party had the bouillabaise, I had the special monkfish, and two others ordered the lobster, which may have been the best deal in town - 2 one lb lobster tails for $40.00! The menu was all inclusive and had something for everyone! I would feel comfortable recommending Hank's to anyone looking for a great atmosphere, great food, and great service!

Thank karajeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Wow! Thanks so much for the 5 star review and kind words. We love our friends at the Andrew Pinckney Inn and happy we were able to get you in on a busy Friday. Please join us again on your next trip to Charleston. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,075 - 2,079 of 3,423 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a lovely spot with linen tablecloths, professional servers and well-prepared seafood. Not the most exciting (i.e., cutting edge) menu, but very reliable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BethL915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your dining with us and very happy you enjoyed your experience. We have an established menu with much variety while also serving nightly specials. We hope to see you again real soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I always stop here when during my annual trip to Charleston. The service, atmosphere and food are great. You know when you see the local South of Broad residents eating here that this is a good place to eat. Make a reservation. Otherwise you will be stuck at the bar or a high top table for tourists. The service is still good at the bar or high top (thank you, Kellen), but it's not like being seated at a regular table and treated graciously like local.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the kind review. Kellen sends her regards. We love serving all our guests, from local and afar, top notch seafood in a beautiful setting. Thank you for joining us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charleston. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The best part about this restaurant experience was the ambience, character of the interior. Seemed it hadn't changed from when it first opened. Food very good, although it could have had a bigger wow factor (I ordered shrimp and grits, but thought the shrimp cold have been more fresh tasting). Definitely an institution. Would recommend.

Thank Teatime-today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the review. Hank's has certainly become an institution since opening in 1999 and winning Best Seafood Restaurant every year since. We love that you enjoyed our gorgeous dining room and hope to see you again very soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The atmosphere: Attractive, traditional without being too fussy or formal

The service: Knowledgeable, pleasant, and professional without being bothersome

The food: Excellent halibut. One of the best pieces of fish I've ever had. For people who want to enjoy a great fish dinner, Hank's is the place.

We've eaten in many fine places in Charleston and elsewhere. Hanks matches up well with any of them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travlzoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Excellent! Thank you for joining us and a 5 star review! We are very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your dining experience. Please join us again on your next trip to Charleston. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing