We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit To Hanks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hank's Seafood Restaurant

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 16 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Return Visit To Hanks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Had a great meal on my first trip here and I was not disappointed this time either, Food and service again were excellent. Do not remember name of soup special that day, But it was great. Soft shell crabs also excellent and warm chocolate croissant bread pudding for dessert topped off a great meal. I Knew going in that this is a pricey restaurant , But I thought $35.00 for softshells and $18.00 for salad with three shrimp was a bit over the top. You will not be disappointed with the food , but be prepared to spend

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hobohank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for joining us again and we are excited that had another great experience. We always have a great time during softshell crab season and are glad you were able to enjoy them at Hank's while in town. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,801
    737
    304
    74
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great seafood at Hank's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We recently took our children, their spouses, and or grandchildren to Hank's. We ordered six different entree's and no one was disappointed. The food was very well prepared and tasty. Scallops were great. Service was thorough and courteous but a little stiff. Overall, still a rating of 5!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelers N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us via TripAdvisor. The entire staff is thrilled that everyone was happy with their menu choices and that the service was thorough and courteous. We appreciate the 5 stars. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip,ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I dined at Hank's four years ago and looked forward to eating at Hank's again when we returned to Charleston this spring. We were not disappointed. The service and food were excellent. My husband had the bouillabaisse and I had the local grouper in a champagne sauce. Both dishes were perfectly done and delicious. For dessert we shared a dark chocolate bread pudding with vanilla ice cream - a perfect ending to a delightful meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the Excellent 5-star review! The Bouillabaisse and Roasted Grouper have always been staff favorites, and we're happy that you enjoyed the service as well. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Charleston. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best oysters ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had the mixed fresh oysters which were really amazing and also tried the fried oysters. This was the surprise - they were in a beautiful batter that was fried to perfection, fluffy and not oily at all. I absolutely loved them. My husband had a fish dish that looked like a soup almost and had some shrimp too. he was very happy with this too. The she crab soup was delicious and is a must. I think it is a must in Charleston.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mylolisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. The entire staff is very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Meal!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went to Hanks with family we were visiting celebrating a special occasion. We had an incredible dinner at Hank's and would highly recommend it!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tratrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for the high praise and recommendation. The entire staff is thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Hank's. We hope to see you again on your future trips to Charleston. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing