We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD, GREAT SERVICE”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 933 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 16 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary at Hanks. From the time we entered the restaurant we were taken care of by the hostess, the great bartenders, and our server. I had the roast grouper recommended by Kellin our server, which was the best dish I have ever had and my wife had the Wando which she loved. Kellin paired our dishes with a Rose that was spot on. We have eaten all over the world and this experience was notably one of the best. Thank you we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DonLiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Fantastic! Kellen thoroughly enjoyed serving you, and we are happy to hear that her suggestions were well received and enjoyed by everyone. Thank you for your kind words, and please do not hesitate to let us know when you return to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,256)
There are newer reviews for Hank's Seafood Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,249 - 2,253 of 3,256 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a party of six and were well taken care of even though we all sensed an underlying condescension in our waiter. The food was quite good - none of us was disappointed and we each had something different. Nice wine selection also!

Thank renomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you very much for dining with us. The Team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything, and we hope to see you here at Hank's again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great room and bustling but may be too bustling the nite we were there.
Had to wait to be seated: to order a drink: to get a drink and to order food. By then I almost lost my appetite so the food that arrived was not well received. I enjoyed by tuna, but one of the mixed fried dishes looked that it had been frozen and micro waved.
No real reason to ever go again.

Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

We appreciate your feedback, and we sincerely regret and apologize for any wait that you had to endure over the course of your meal. We take pride in the efficiency of our service, and we never want our guests to wait longer than they should at any point of the evening. We also assure you that our seafood is never frozen or microwaved; It is made fresh to order every time, so we apologize that it was not to your liking. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future- we would love the opportunity to serve you again soon. Thank you for dining with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We dined at Hank's yesterday evening and found almost everthying to be absolutely brillant. As we arrived around 7:15 the resturant was very busy (A great sign) and were seated shortly thereafter. The decor and ambiance of Hank's was very impressive. It has a very large and open floor plan great for socializing and enjoying all the surroundings that are happening. The food was outstanding everything from our appetizers/salads to our entrees. We tried three other highly rated resturants on previous nights and our meal at Hank's was the most delicious. Service was good but we felt very pushed and rushed at times by our waitress Kelly or Kellyn? We felt she came by our table a little too often and was "pushing" us from one course to the next so that she could get to the next table. The real negative aspect from our evening came on exit out of Hanks. We were outside saying goodbye to our friends who we had dined with when Kelly came OUT of the resturant to point out a somewhat embarrassing wardrobe malfunction. Maybe she was trying to help, but coming outside in a condescending tone after rushing us through our meal left me with with a bad impression. Atleast the food was great

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BluegrassGal1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Your server truly enjoyed serving you, and by no means was she trying to "push" you to the next course. We sincerely apologize that you felt this way, and the issue will be addressed immediately. Again, we really appreciate your feedback, and we would love to have you back for another meal with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had 6pm reservations on a thursday which was a good thing as the place was packed. My wife and I were seated immediately while others with no reservations were told 9:30 at the earliest.
Very good waiter who recommended the Trigger fish special. It was awesome. Wife had the fried platter # 4 also good. Nice bottle of wine, pecan pie for desert and a perfect evening. Very nice decor and not loud.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScottMacD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing