We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, cocktails and seafood”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 967 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 17 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Make sure you make reservations! The food here is fabulous and the specialty cocktails are delicious. This is a do not miss restaurant if you love perfectly prepared seafood.

Thank Nolegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We are very pleased to hear that everything was "perfectly prepared." We look forward to serving you again soon. Please let us know when you are in Charleston again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,556 - 2,560 of 3,515 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first time at Hank's. We came in without a reservation on Mother's Day. However, they were able to accommodate us, at a "community table," a novel way of dealing with walk-ins. It had perhaps 14 or 16 seats. We net some interesting folks. As for the food, it was delicious! This is a fine dining experience, and 99% for the seafood lover. My wife loves seafood and had the she-crab soup and scallops in a ginger-lime sauce-they were great. I hate seafood, so only one choice for me-boned fried chicken with mashed potatoes and collard greens. It was also extremely good. My wife and I liked the house salad. Pecan pie for dessert was excellent. This restaurant is expensive, but well-worth it for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Davigeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Wonderful! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed dining at our Community Table. Thank you for stopping in on Mother's Day, and we hope you had a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was our first trip to Charleston. We were celebrating special occasions with my son just receiving his MBA, his girlfriend graduating the college of Charleston, and my birthday so I asked them to pick a nice restaurant of their choosing for this celebration. They chose Hanks, so I made reservations for four a month in advance telling them of our special celebrations and requesting booth seating for this. We arrived on time and the hostess showed us to the last table in the back next to the open kitchen, hallway to bathrooms, and walkway for servers!

We asked the hostess if she could seat us at the booth we requested for our celebrations and she said sorry that seating needed to be reserved and for parties of 4! We were astonished and disappointed with her remark. She offered another table in 15 minutes, so we waited for that for near an hour and in that time several booths became available of which she sat 2 people! One hour and some time later we were seated at a table off the entrance to the restaurant.

We are frequent diners and enjoy fine restaurants but Hanks was a disappointment all around!
I made reservations a month in advance with special requests to Cru Café, SNOB, 82 Queen, and Hall's Chophouse and all of these were honored except for Hank's. It was unfortunate, as this was the only restaurant my son and his girlfriend wanted to celebrate at. I have to also mention that although the food was great, the service was just okay for this establishment.

I am so happy that our last evening of dining was at Hall's Chophouse, as it was exceptional on every level for a memorable dining experience! Not impressed Hank's, and we'll never be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank prettybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Please accept our most sincere apologies. If you made a request for a booth and that request was not honored, that is completely unacceptable. We understand that when the first experience you have with us is a negative one, it sets the tone for the rest of the evening. Your concerns have been addressed with our staff, and we thank you for your feedback. We would love to have you back again for another evening with us. If there is anything we can do for you, please let us know personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I went to Hank's with friends who live in Charleston. We started by ordering the seafood castle and oh what a tower of divine taste. Fresh oysters, shrimp, crab, mussels and lobster. Delicious and a lot of fun when shared with friends. We followed that up with more fresh oysters, some superb fried chicken (which one wouldn't expect in a seafood restaurant) and baked, stuffed oysters. The service blew us away. The ambience reminiscent of a gracious time long gone. Get a booth. Start with cocktails. Watch the world go by. Indulge. Can not recommend this place highly enough. We'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Happy-to-BeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

We are so delighted that you enjoyed the food and service! The Team at Hank's thanks you for your kind words. Please come back and see us again soon. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We came in much later than we planned thanks to weather in Chicago so the folks we were meeting at Hanks had already finished their meal & desert. The server Hooper was so gracious and accomodating her service blew us away. The Food was outstanding as entrees but even better ordered Ala Carte with the champagne citrus ber Blanc sauce and a side. We toured to Savannah and Beufort and Hanks won the service, food, and atmosphere battle of all 3 low country places. Could not recommend this place highly enough!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gopher-Vol_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

We were so happy that you were able to make it over to Hank's after what sounds like a long day of flying. Christine really enjoyed serving you, and we all thank you very much for dining with us. Please let us know when you return to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing