We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done Hank's”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 16 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well Done Hank's”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a little early and were seated right away. Casey, our waiter, was informative and provided great service throughout our meal. We had the calamari and rock shrimp as a starter - our standard was more than met for our favorite appetizer. My wife had one of the seafood platters (they have 5) and I had the monkfish special. It was served in a delicious blood orange sauce. We finished things off with their banana cream pie - mmmmmm! There were no skimpy servings of anything. Be prepared to leave satisfied. We will be back to try out more of the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Oburgtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Fantastic! Casey enjoyed serving you, and he gives you his best regards. The Team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed everything, and we look forward to your return to try out more of our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,934
    765
    314
    77
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in historic Charleston!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very good food with excellent service! Had the grilled swordfish as my entree and key lime pie for dessert. Doesn't get much better! Location is close to the Charleston Place Hotel and the market area so it is very convenient!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Excellent! You made some wonderful choices for your meal. We thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to serving you again when you return to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Glad we had a reservation”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hank's was very crowded when we arrived, glad we had a reservation, we were just a few minutes early, but were seated right away. Menu selection was okay, we ordered a house salad and she-crab soup, then split the seafood platter (had a heavy lunch so we weren't too hungry). House salad was good, mild dressing, but tomatoes were cut so fine that it was hard to include them on a fork. She-Crab soup was good too, but not the best we've had. The seafood platter was good, but the crab cake was not very good. Had the creme brule' for dessert, it was excellent. Appeared to be a locals gathering place. Not sure that we'd return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keysin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are very sorry that your meal did not live up to your expectations. We warmly invite you to return to sample some of our other offerings- we have many that we are sure you will love. Please let us know if you decide to return, and we will make sure that everything is perfect. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tops in sea food!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We revisited Hanks yesterday enroute from Florida by car after an absence of 5+ years and we were pleased to see that the service and quality of dining has only improved in the interval. The she-crab soup was wonderful with just the right consistency of crab meat - very rich of course, but absolutely wonderful.

My wife had the seared tuna and I ordered the exquisitely prepared grilled sea scallops. After the usual sampling and sharing we came to the conclusion that no other restaurant has ever served us both choices to such ultimate perfection!

Make no mistake this is a quality dining experience and the prices reflect it. With individual appetizers, excellent main dishes, one shared key lime pie (large and absolutely delicious), a full bottle of a fine wine at $45, tea, coffee and a generous tip this dinner date topped out at close to $150.00. But as a special occasion and likely the best quality seafood that we have ever experienced with great friendly service included, this was well worth the price. We will be back, hopefully before 2018!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warren in Oakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and we are so happy you were able to make it back to Hank's! We are always trying to improve, and we are humbled that you feel that we are even better today than we were five years ago. We certainly hope it will be sooner than five years from now that you will return! When you do, please let us know. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great seafood restaurant”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great place to east/ Wonderful seafood fare. Do make reservations first! Check out the picture of the building in the foyer taken in 1938.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LarryT926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Great! Thank you for dining with us. We hope that you come and join us again when you return to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing