We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Seafood”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 16 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Valley, AL
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Seafood”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This restaurant is excellent! Our waitress was attentive but not over bearing. The raw oyster sampler and broiled seafood platter were superb. The food and atmosphere were well worth the price. There are only a few seats by the front window. If you want one you need to make reservations a day or so ahead of time. We visited during November which is considered the off season. I was told if you want a table during the busy tourist season you may want to call several days ahead of time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbarosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Great! We really appreciate your feedback. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to call us if we can help you make a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,963
    772
    318
    77
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very very good!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a fun evening at Hank's seafood! It is popular with locals and we did not have a reservation so we ate at their 'community' table near the bar. It was fun! It is a very attractive restaurant with good food and excellent service!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lwgurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
The Team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining at our Community Table. Thank you for the valuable feedback, and please let us know when you come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We dine at Hank's on every trip to Charleston. It is one of the few restaurants where your reservation means that you will quickly be seated at that time. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the house salad with their light citrus dressing. I had a seafood platter of broiled shrimp and grouper, sweet potato fries and cole slaw. My spouse had the seared tuna which was accompanied by goat cheese, carmelized onions, roasted tomatoes and black olive tapenade. He believes it is some of the best he has ever had and he enjoyed the various flavors of the accompaniments. We tried their collard greens which have a sweet flavoring from barbeque sauce and apple cider vinegar. If you like collards, make this a must on your next visit. Regardless of the staff recommendations for dessert--it is always Hank's key lime pie.

In addition, we shared a bottle of Cakebread Sauvignon Blanc--how could that not be terrific? Their wine list offers something at every price point. This night was a celebration for us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We always look forward to seeing you. The Team at Hank's thanks you very much for your wonderful review. We are truly honored to have you here every time you come to Charleston. Please let us know when you return, and we will make sure you have yet another excellent experience. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is truly a first class establishment. The service beyond what is expected, the knowledge of the staff outstanding. The food is just excellent. Well worth the money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank padi176715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much! We are all delighted to know how much you enjoyed dining at Hank's! We look forward to your next visit. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Some good... Some not so much”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great atmosphere and very attentive and friendly staff, but, food was average on the whole. Swordfish was very good and peanut butter pie was good. Peel and eat shrimp were mooshy and asparagus was fair. On the whole average. Conveniently located next to pay parking lot. Does not open until 5 pm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkyzFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for dining with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your entree and dessert, but we are sorry that your appetizer missed the mark. We would have been happy to have done whatever we could to correct that issue. Please let us know personally if there is ever anything we can do for you. Thank you for the feedback, and please let us know if you would ever like to join us again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing