We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifico”

Mex 1 Coastal Cantina
Ranked #144 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magnifico”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Best salsa ever. Brought some home to Ohio to show the locals how it should be done. All food selections we tried were excellent. Atmosphere is lively if not Latin. Mex1 will remain on the must visit list.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    50
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Queso Fantastico!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Great concept! Even better food and service! Alway a great place to have a meeting or stop in for dinner and a beer. Mellody is always super hospitable!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Casual Friendly and Delicious”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant is a great addition to West Ashley. We are very close by and it is a nice treat to go and enjoy fresh homemade salsa, fresh guacamole dip with wonderful hot and salty chips.
The beer is cold and the margaritas are great. The service is very good and exceptionally friendly. We are slowly working our way through the menu and each item we try has been very good. Give it a try I do believe you will find it an enjoyable and delicious experience!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 68Munzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Tacos for Lunch”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Service was quick and friendly. The chips were not greasy and the salsa was much better than expected. Surf videos played on the widescreen panel TVs to entertain while waiting for your order but the wait was short. I enjoyed two tacos the Cantina Chicken and the Carne Asada.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fast F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We eat at Mex 1 often, and have never had a bad meal or experience. The atmosphere and food remind me of a vacation I took to San Diego many years ago. My young son accompanies us and enjoys the chips and cheese dip. I'm partial to the fish and shrimp tacos! The service is always outstanding and the prices are reasonable. Definitely give this place a try if you are in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephInSC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mex 1 Coastal Cantina also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mex 1 Coastal Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing