We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little cafe in a very unique setting”
Review of Persimmon Cafe

Persimmon Cafe
Ranked #126 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Description: Persimmon is a causal cafe offering gourmet sandwiches & paninis, as well as homemade sides, soups & hand spun custards. With quality ingredients and genuine hospitality we aim to give Charleston a unique cafe experience. We are located just blocks away from King St, MUSC (Medical University of South Carolina) & CofC (College of Charleston).
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly little cafe in a very unique setting”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I chanced upon this cafe in Charleston on the morning of July 4th, when many other restaurants were closed. I'll admit the location was a little off-putting initially, as the cafe occupies an area within a laundromat, which was a first for me! My husband I I walked in and spoke to the owner, who was just opening for the day. We were looking for breakfast, which they don't officially serve. However, the owner graciously offered to make us a panini breakfast sandwich of ham and gruyere, which we gratefully accepted. The sandwich was yummy - had a nice hint of maple, was perfectly grilled, and the ham and cheese were of great quality. I also ordered a rosemary iced tea with agave. When I mentioned the tea was a little too sweet for me, he quickly made a new one using less agave. While this cafe has a limited menu due to it's location, the quality of what they do serve is excellent and the service is absolutely wonderful. You can also add "I had a meal at a cafe in a laundromat" to your list of firsts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pisces0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    30
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Who needs a broiler when you have a blow torch?”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you’re looking for something that’s “off the beaten path,” you’ve found it. Perched on a nondescript corner of Calhoun street, Persimmon Cafe is nestled into an unused corner of a laundromat. Yep. The kind with industrial-sized front-loaders and wheeled wire carts. You can either order your food to go, or perch at the bar counter in front of the windows and watch street traffic.

They work under the guise of a coffee shop, but don’t let the primitive setup fool you — Chef Robert knows what he’s doing. My friend Stephanie and I were able to sample the made-from-scratch vegetable and black bean soups, both of which were delicious (and I don’t normally care for vegetable soup), as well as the vanilla lemonade and the basil limeade. I ordered a tall glass of the vanilla lemonade and the grilled zucchini Panini with red onion, fontina cheese, and pistachio pistou (kind of like pesto, except with pistachios instead of pine nuts I think).

Like any true visionary, Chef Robert doesn’t let minute details like the fact that he doesn’t have an actual kitchen stop him from coming up with unique ways to serve real food to people who might also just happen to be waiting for a load of delicates to dry. Like his Nutella frozen custard with toasted marshmallows. Wow! I mean… who needs a broiler when you have a blow torch?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best quick lunch spot-from a local”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This spot is a hidden gem! With fresh food, a menu updated daily and good prices you can't go wrong! Right off Calhoun street it's a neat local within a laundromat. You may be skeptical but the food is to die for! This maybe my favorite new lunch spot! If it's on the menu get the caprese. The fig jam is amazing and the mozzarella cheese...YUM! Do yourself a favor and go here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
o
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Great little neighborhood spot to eat! All made from scratch food, and nice people. I think most of the food is locally sourced too. I saw they had frappes there and I'm definitely trying one next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jka47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doing laundry is no longer a chore with this gem!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stumbled along this place on the way to class this morning. My boyfriend and I wanted to test it out because we like to see what new places are popping up around the city. The owners were extremely friendly and knowledgable about absolutely everything. I had one of the most delicious salads (goat cheese crab pistachio and grilled zucchini with a honey mustard balsamic vinaigrette.) needless to say, I will be back and so will the dozens of people who I will recommend persimmon cafe to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Klvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persimmon Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Persimmon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing