We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated and bland”

Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House
Reserve with OpenTable
Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A celebration of craft beer with 48 taps and many rare & seasonal bottles. We serve handcrafted, traditionally made food, including house made sausages, our Farmhouse burger, fresh seafood and farm fresh vegetables.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“overrated and bland”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The food is bland, the beer selection is poorly chosen, there's just so many better restaurants in Charleston.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpencerD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    104
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Place To Be”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

On a recent trip to Charleston, South Carolina, my wife and I were fortunate enough to discover the Craftsmen Kitchen and Tap House !! There is a lot of fine dining available in Charleston, and there are a lot of options for craft beer lovers, but Craftsmen was one of those "above and beyond" discoveries for us. The menu had a wide variety of local, pub and exotic offerings - all easy to share like at a tapas bar and the kitchen staff knows what they are doing - simply amazing dining. The beer list is extensive, pours come in flights, 8 oz or 16 oz sizes, all priced very reasonably and the staff knows their beer. Great food, great beer. Is that enough to justify five visits to Craftsmen in a one week vacation ? Probably not with all that Charleston has to offer, but when you add in the caliber of staff employed at Craftsmen, you have something very special that drew my wife and I back again and again. The staff is the "above and beyond" factor at Craftsmen, and with every visit we just felt so welcome. Craftsmen has got something great going on, and the staff are eager to share it - they create that rare atmosphere where a customer is truly a guest !!. If we find ourselves back in Charleston, Craftsmen will be our first stop ! (P.S. Jerrod Rocks !!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zymurgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great meal with great beer selection”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went to Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap after reading many rave reviews. We were a party of 4 & we ordered tapas style (ordered a bunch of things to share). The food was excellent & the beer selection was incredible! I'm still thinking about the scotch egg! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The Craftsmen is a great place of beer. We did not have the food so cannot comment on that, but the beer selection was great. Bartenders take good care of you as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SEB8536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good beer, good food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very simple menu with plenty of choices. Tons of beers, lots of local beer choices. Split 3 flights with my buddy so we could taste a bunch of different beers from different regions of the country, including an excellent local flight. The ladies in the party had some specialty cocktails which were surprisingly refreshing. Appetizers were good, and the burgers and hot dogs were very good. They have an ice cream sandwich dessert which is served with cookies, would've been better with fresh baked, soft cookies instead of the hard chocolate chip versions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank finch39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing