We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Day of Fishing Beats a Day in the Office”

Marsh Maven Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Year round inshore fishing charters and guide service for redfish, sea trout and flounder. Light tackle and fly fishing. USCG certified captain. Half and full day trips. All experience levels welcome.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Day of Fishing Beats a Day in the Office”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fished yesterday on the Wando River with an outstanding guide, Captain David Lane. The trip started slow with no bites, but Captain David was determined to find fish and put us on the bite. Captain Lane used his many years of experience and knowledge to not only find fish but put us on some big “Reds”. You could not ask for a nicer guide who is willing and patient to teach you the correct way to fish and how to catch big Reds. He has a first class “Flats-Boat” that is great to fish off of allowing plenty of room to work and very stable. You could not find a better guide or better experience than fishing with Captain David Lane of Marsh Haven Inshore Charters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful, fun, and successful fishing trip!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable June morning fishing with David Lane. We hopped aboard a short time before sunrise, and it was a delight watching the sun break the horizon with water and salt marsh and forest on all sides. David provided the poles and bait and advice (and bug spray and drinks). We landed four nice-sized red drum after energetic fights that included clambering around the boat and a fair amount of line being stripped off the reel. Very fun! We released three of the fish and packed the smallest, a hearty 18-incher, on ice to bring home. The fishing was great, the scenery was gorgeous, the boat was very well suited for inshore fishing, and David was excellent company. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharleen_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Great day for fishing”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My son(11 years old) and I took our first fishing charter together and it couldn't have gone any better. Capt. Lane was awsome with my son, he made him feel like he could do no wrong. We were able to fish at serveral spots and caught different types of fish throughout the charter. When it was over and we got into our car the first thing my son said to me was "What a nice person Capt Lane" that sums up are charter. We will be scheduling another trip in the fall.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very knowledgeable and attentive”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We started out very early on a Saturday. Captain Lane was on time. The boat and equipment well maintained and ready to go. He took us out to a lot of different "sweet spots" and was helpful in explaining why the fish were there and where we should be casting. He was very attentive to be sure we were getting the most from the trip and even extended the trip to let us try one or two special spots. The whole experience was very enjoyable. I would recommend Marsh Mavin for locals and visitors both.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jksmith54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Go fish!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just what a fishing trip should be. Capt. Lane is knowledgeable, organized, helpful, patient - you'll definitely feel you're in good hands. He sets the perfect pace - relaxing but not boring. Plenty of variety - you'll really get to stretch your fishing skills in lots of hot spots for different species. All around great trip! You won't regret booking a Marsh Maven fishing trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsh Maven Fishing Charters also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Marsh Maven Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing