We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ordinary

The Ordinary
Ranked #43 of 899 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
chicago IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is anything but ordinary. The fish is fresh, incredibly and inventively prepared and a delicious stand-out! My husband loved the oysters and I relished the shrimp appetizer and bay scallops. We have never had a better meal! Service was great and ambience very sophisticated.

Helpful?
Thank utterna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    147
    81
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This restaurant has it all: great food, knowledgeable & helpful service and fine setting. The food quality is what you would expect in the best of restaurants in much bigger cities.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northwestern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

the space is nice, after we sat at the table we waited a long time to get the food. Great oysters and scallops. The problem is the loud noise that can not be able to speak and sentire.Non is a restaurant but it is a place for aperitifs

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdp200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“" WAY BEYOND THE ORDINARY "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We met a lady at the bar at Pearlz and she said her friend was the sous chef here. Best recommendation ever. Tough to get a reservation, so we walked there the next morning and got a 7:30 that night. This is a must stop if you are in the area. Excellent food and service and a hip big city vibe.
Jim and Linda Munro
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
Suttons Bay, MI

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stopped at the Ordinary, a converted bank, on our last night in Charleston. The bar staff was terrific and the drinks, while expensive, were unique and delicious. We didn't try to food but heard good things from other patrons around us who did.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ordinary also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ordinary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing