We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST DO!”
Review of The Ordinary

The Ordinary
Ranked #41 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A MUST DO!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Another great restaurant on upper King St.
Different in looks…very open and somewhat loud.
However, the food and service is what it's all about.
I believe the "new" daily special idea will be a hit.
Book early or take a chance…it worked for me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grouper1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    153
    84
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“What a seafood restaurant.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our table was on the mezzanine floor, which was a great spot and not too noisy. We arrived ahead of our friends, and got our menus and water, and then waited. After about 5-7 mins we managed to flag down a member of staff to order drinks! After that things improved. Good wine list but not outstanding. For a top seafood restauarant they are missing some of the obvious wines. The food is with out a doubt fantastic!! The hot starter of Fried Oysters & Steak Tartar is amazing, and really works. The Lobster Cocktail is basically a whole lobster beautifully cooked and presented - rave reviews from my wife on that. Shrimp Hushpuppies I think was the best starter - just downright delicious. The main courses of Fish Schnitzel, Lobster Roll, and Carribean Fish Stew were absolutely perfect. The Schnitzel is one of the best fish dishes I've ever had, and would I recommend it anyone dining at The Ordinary. The hot and cold starters, not to mention the oysters, means you can dine on just these at the bar and still have a fantastic meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City NY
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We dined twice at The Ordinary because we found it extraordinary. The baked oysters were wonderful. We liked the shrimp, the various fish of the day. The lobster roll was fine, considering how far Charleston is from New England. This is a restaurant for lovers of shellfish. The shrimp hush puppies were good, but heavy. The menu changes each day with whatever fish or shellfish are available. It appears that the restaurant changes their webpage often also, so you might get a preview of what is available. We liked the breaded swordfish 'schnitzel' and Kale Caesar salad. Beer selection is excellent, we liked the local Farmhouse Ale Bearded farmer, Westbrook Brewery.
As noted, this was a bank building and has a very high ceiling, so it can be noisy, but not too bad in decibels. One may sit at two bars, and there is an upstairs dining area with a view of the banking/dining floor. Be sure to reserve in advance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GC_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Quite unique...need more than one visit”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We love the chef/owner from his FIG restaurant and I knew this one was totally different. Being from the north, we don't see much shellfish (like any....) so it is unfamiliar to us. This is the place for you if you do know and love it! The old bank is beautifully redone but it is acoustically a challenge, I.e. Extremely noisy. We sat upstairs which had to be better in terms of sound but this is clearly not a restaurant door the hearing impaired. It's young and vibrant and we didn't match those demographics. The food was very good if somewhat confusingly listed on the menu. The plates are basically small plate unless you do a seafood tower with the million options for that. My biggest gripe is...not even a roll or a piece of bread. That's just odd. Apparently, you have to buy a roll. At those prices, bread should have been in the deal. Still love FIG the best but might give this another try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

On a friend's recommendation, we decided to eat at The Ordinary Oyster Bar. We were walk-ins with no reservations. We requested for seats at the bar. It gives you a chance to chat with the bartenders, check out the tables and views. For us, a more casual environment.

The Ordinary is in a formerly, renovated bank. Spacious, vault ceilings and beautifully decorated. Highly recommend this place for wonderful oysters and delicious plates. Bartenders were extremely nice, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about the food. If you are not sure what to order, definitely ask them for recommendations!

Oysters were in season. We devoured East Coast oysters (so good, we placed a second order!) and smoked Oysters served with saltines and hot sauce … excellent all around.

For the main course, we shared Baked Oysters with Bottarga Butter, sliced heirloom tomatoes, and the Beeliner Snapper with romesco and brussels sprouts. Yummy, savory dishes.

For dessert, we ordered the Carolina rice pudding with peaches -- our hands down fave for the evening. Classic goodness! Creamy, rich and luscious.

We also had the Chocolate Pave with Coffee Cream. Bittersweet chocolate flour-less cake, mousse like center served with pistachios and coffee cream sauce and mint leaves.

One of the best meals we had on this trip! A must-stop destination!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinyideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ordinary also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ordinary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing