We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xiao Bao Biscuit

Xiao Bao Biscuit
Ranked #110 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I'd heard some good things from friends & I'm so happy I tried this incredible restaurant. My husband and I went with my in laws and we all picked something that appealed to us personally and we all loved everything we ordered. We had the Jiao Zi (dumplings), Lap Cheong(sausage with mushrooms & beans), Ma La Rou (hanger steak), Okonomiyaki (cabbage pancake- we added the egg- do this!), Yu Xiang (brussel sprouts)& the whole fish. Wow! Standouts were certainly the whole fish, which was crispy and moist and beautiful all at the same time. Brussel sprouts were a close second & maybe a tie with the cabbage pancake but I would eat every one of the again no question! Cool comfortable atmosphere & good service too. If I had any criticism it would be that wine by the glass was a bit pricy but the food is incredibly delicious & so reasonably priced it's worth it. Can't wait to eat here again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    54
    25
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful flavors in an eclectic setting. Friendly, knowledgable staff made for a great experience. The cabbage pancake with pork candy was exceptional, but all the dishes we shared were delightful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LynMay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not your usual oriental restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

When entering this small converted service station you are transplanted to a little place in southeast Asia. To say that it is not fancy is a understatement. But the atmosphere is fun and the staff is amazing. There was a line at 11:30 in the morning when it opened. The food is interesting and innovative. The cabbage pancake sound strange but is not to be missed. It is a good item to share when you are starting your meal. On Friday they have a special biscuit , ours had spicy chicken with bang bang sauce. The chicken salad with bean sprouts was superb. Most of the dishes are spicy but certainly not too hot. The Vietnamese "lemonade" was the best non-alcoholic drink that I can remember having in a restaurant. They have a full bar, so you can have a drink while you are waiting outside to get a table, the bar will be full of diners. Don't miss this place if you are in the mood for an outing with friends. It is unique!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
296 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hard to pronounce, easy to like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Another of the many converted gas stations is home to "The Biscuit". We went in on a crowded Friday night, but got lucky when spots at the first-come-first-serve lunch counter opened up. Otherwise it would have been a 30 minute wait in a fairly tight space. Service, both hostess and waitress, was very pleasant. Papaya salad (a regular dish we try everywhere) was very spicy and good. The Cha Ca Hanoi was really very different and tasty. Cocktails are nothing like you've ever seen before, so we tried the Sichuan Sting. Don't think I'd do that again. A little odd taste, so back to the Asian beer for me. Wine list very limited. Don't agree it's the best Asian food in town. I've reviewed better ones, but we'll be back again to The Biscuit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
2 reviews
“Out of this world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Never, ever have I had such fabulous Asian food as I did here. The Japanese pancake, Okonomiyaki, which is served at lunch and extremely popular, has no equivalent. Those who enjoy spicy food need to try their homemade hot sauce, which is made from pepper-infused honey. The flavors here pop in a way that I have never tasted before. The menu may be limited, but don't let that dissuade you from eating here. You will also enjoy the refreshing cocktail and juice menu. The property, a renovated gas station, is very eclectic, which lends to the charm of the experience. The knowledgeable wait staff takes great care of everyone. Take an authentic trip to Asia and stop by this funky fresh establishment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CSund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xiao Bao Biscuit also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Xiao Bao Biscuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing