We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest dining”

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Burwell's Stone Fire Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Bay Street
Transit: Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.
Description: Burwell's, a pioneer of the Modern Steakhouse, unites with specific farms and ranches, most recently forging a powerful relationship with Snake River Farms for its exotic cuts, butcher selects, and above prime grades. The Award-Winning, casual steakhouse serves local, seasonal ingredients and its nose-to-tail efforts made famous by the "Hot Rock" program have caused quite a stir. Toss in the local seafood and vegetables and you'll find out why they've been the best kept secret in Charleston. Indoor - Outdoor Dining. "There is no other steak like it!"
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finest dining”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I decided to try Burwell's Stone Fire Grill just by chance and we made the right call! We were celebrating our 39th wedding anniversary and we told the hostess that when we made the reservation. We were greeted by two lovely young ladies who promptly seated us at a very nice table.We were then greeted by our waiter Eric who wished us a happy anniversary and then brought us two glasses of champagne! We followed his recommendations for appetizers and dinner and he was spot on! The bone in rib-eye was as tender as a filet and more flavorful. Eric then suggested a "smores" dessert to share that was out of this world. Not only was the meal superb but the service that we received was outstanding!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    116
    43
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really really good”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We rarely do steakhouses - Chs has so many great Lowcountry restaurants - so Burwell's reopened our eyes to how good a really good steak house can be. Great deckle steak, great stone cooked filet and the prices include sides. The wine list is also excellent - we drank a very reasonable Cotes-du-Rhone. Attentive but unobtrusive service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuySeabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were visiting town on a Friday and no reservation for dinner. There may or may not have been a slight panic as, expectedly, all the 'big name' places around town were completely booked. We normally wouldn't mind a long wait for dinner, but we had a walking tour scheduled for 9pm. I had remembered reading some good reviews about Burwell's and was expecting them to be completely full like all the rest of the places. I was shocked to find that they had plenty of reservations open throughout the dinner hours. And we were so glad they did!

The five of us had an absolutely fantastic meal. We had steaks, shrimp & grits and plenty of sides. All delicious! And dessert? Holy... Those s'mores were amazing. The espresso creme brulee was equally delicious. I'd definitely make a repeat visit when we're back in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terps122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden jem!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Burwells is a great place if you are a steak lover and are looking for innovated food ideas!
The menu had many interesting choices( including local seafood!), wine was delicious and the atmosphere was contempory and comfortable. It was easy for the four of us to talk and enjoy delicious food . Next time we want to start at the roof top bar!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 192charlestonfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for choosing us, and we appreciate the kind words. We agree!!! We are the town secret. Shhhh. Kidding, let everyone know since they will know soon enough anyway.

Thank you for dining with us Bill,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great new restaurant”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The service was fantastic and most helpful. The steak was one of the best I have ever had. The sides were great and the wine was fine.
A real good new friendly place to try in a town that's full of great places to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillC47191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burwell's Stone Fire Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Burwell's Stone Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing