We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great new restaurant in Charleston”

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Burwell's Stone Fire Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 933 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Bay Street
Transit: Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.
Description: Burwell's, a pioneer of the Modern Steakhouse, unites with specific farms and ranches, most recently forging a powerful relationship with Snake River Farms for its exotic cuts, butcher selects, and above prime grades. The Award-Winning, casual steakhouse serves local, seasonal ingredients and its nose-to-tail efforts made famous by the "Hot Rock" program have caused quite a stir. Toss in the local seafood and vegetables and you'll find out why they've been the best kept secret in Charleston. Indoor - Outdoor Dining. "There is no other steak like it!"
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A relatively new addition to the Charleston restaurant scene. The service, food and atmosphere were great. Our waitress was very attentive (but not overly so) and helpful. Our food was outstanding. The cedar planked lump crab cake appetizer was terrific, with an excellent combination of flavors textures and presentation. Don't miss it! For an entre, I had the special for the day- black sea bass. It also was very tastefully prepared. My spouse had filet, which I was fortunate to sample...again very well prepared. This is our third visit to charleston, where we love the dining experience, and we will definitely put Burwell's on our list of places to return to.

1  Thank Zach4761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you so much, and we have been so happy with the local support! We love knowing our diners. Thank you.

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Burwell's Stone Fire Grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 589 of 608 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Burwell's is a great addition to the market area which has recently been losing a lot business to upper King Street in the food & beverage industry. Cozy atmosphere, but upscale at the same time. The dinner & cocktail menus are iPads which is pretty cool and the food is Fab! It's on the end of Market Street by the water with a private parking lot for patrons... love this, as parking is hard to come by downtown, especially on the weekends. Get the hot stone steak appetizer if you are a steak lover - yummy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JulieSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing Burwell's Stone Fire Grill. We are so glad that you had a great evening with us. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

You would never know the restaurant before Burwell's was Gilligan's a local family seafood joint.(I enjoy Gilligan's - no comparison) Burwell's did an outstanding job with their renovations and I'm looking forward to the completion of the upper deck hopefully in time for spring! My first visit was to meet a couple of friends for happy hour. We sat at the bar, had their signature hamburger that was out of this world, enjoyed their house wines. Second visit, Burwell's hosted a happy hour for our social group. Again, it was outstanding! Burwell's is a high end restaurant with a casual low key vibe. The food is high quality, exceptionally prepared with inventive presentation. This is my new place for happy hour!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nanswa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

They really made our 10th anniversary special. Awesome appetizers (Rock Candy is a MUST; Deviled Eggs w/Wild Boar Candied Bacon also delicious); great main courses (jumbo lump crab cake, premium steaks) and a delicious dessert offering (we were given a sampler for our anniversary that included creme brulee, chocolate/peanut butter morsels, bread pudding, more) made this experience unforgettable. Kudos to Brian and his staff for making a great dining experience there!

Thank tstevens0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you. That is what we strive for... new twist on steak, and we are glad when our guests experience that! We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice atmosphere and the best servers that I have had at a restaurant for a while. The offer you your stake cooked as you wish or you can cook it yourself on a very hot stone. I go out to eat so there is no one in the family cooking, so I got mine cooked medium rare. My son and his wife cooked theirs on the stone. It was a lot of fun to them and I enjoyed watching. The food was very good and the service was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 123manipulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burwell's Stone Fire Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Burwell's Stone Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing