We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our Stay at Zero George” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zero George Street
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Stay at Zero George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We recenly spent a fabulous weekend in Carleston at Zero. I cannot say enough good things about our stay. From the wonterful staff who welcomed us to the beautiful rooms we were immediately at home. We loved the 5 pm wine and cheese hour and the treats on our bed each night. This was truly one of the nicest places we have stayed in years and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    36
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
269
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were taken by this charming setting. It is nestled in the heart of the historic district. We stayed in the garden suite for two nights. It was spacious and quaint. Each morning we enjoyed breakfast on property in the courtyard. My only negatives of the stay were if you are traveling with a child it is a bit difficult. Since this is a boutique hotel they really don't cater to children. The dinner menu is a bit gourmet for their taste. We found ourselves having to go into town for dinner. We will return again but probably without our son.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellymclemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A marvelous experience on every level. Well located, Wonderful ambiance. Delightful food with innovative presentation. Like stepping back in time but with up to date amenities. Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: We got the last room available with a queen size bed. It was more than adequate,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in late June. It was a wonderful experience, and I am happy that we decided to stay at this property. I would stay there again.

Room: We booked a verandah queen. The room we were first given faced East Bay, and was a lot louder than I would have expected. I understand that the hotel faces on to a busy street, but I would have thought that better efforts to soundproof those rooms would have been made. Perhaps, they are prevented from doing so for some reason. The room itself though, was lovely. Fortunately, the hotel was not full and we were able to be moved to a courtyard facing room. It was so much quieter, and just as lovely.

Service: I thought that the service was exceptional. The staff are all young, but so are my husband and I. Everyone that we dealt with was personable, and professional. We really felt taken care of.

Amenities: The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Some of the options took me back to my travels in Europe (i.e. fruit, prosciutto and brie), and eating it in the courtyard was a treat. The wine and cheese at night was equally amazing. The only issue we had was that the restaurant/bar is not open a couple nights a week (sun/mon?) and so we were not always able to get a late night drink or snack. I think that the person at the front desk should at least be able to provide guests access the bar on all days.

Location: The hotel is out of the way in the best possible way. It is a nice retreat from the madness of the market and King Street. We were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go in about 10 mins, and the scenery along the way was enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEMcJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

You really can't beat the charm and comfort of the Zero George in Charleston, SC. Just a really beautiful property with cozy rooms, friendly staff, and wonderful food. The Zero George is located on a quiet corner away from the more touristy parts of Charleston, and yet is walking distance from just about anywhere you want to go in the town. My wife and I really loved staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The buildings and grounds are beautiful. The service from all of the staff members was excellent. They were always nice, smiling and helpful. The rooms are very nice, and the adjoining veranda was incredible. Very nice wine and cheese service before dinner. The restaurant was excellent as well. A great place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jero52691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff was attentive and available. We arrived at 1 pm and a staff member took our bags in and valet parked our rental car. We were escorted to our room after receiving a tour of the property. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Concierge was readily available to give assistance on restaurants, sight-seeing, etc. Our package included a cooking class. Chef Randy was knowledgeable and personable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,477 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Planters Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Property: Zero George Street
Address: 0 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing