We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with the feeling of home”
Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zero George Street
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Gulph Mills, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel with the feeling of home”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Zero George Street is glowing gem of a hotel. It is so beautiful, preserving the historic feel coated with luxury. We felt at home from the first minute we checked in. Everything you need for a great stay is there... a comfortable bed, a covered porch with gas heaters that makes you want to stay in at night, a cozy bar. Once you have a quick tour of the hotel, you feel like you can make yourself at home. There is always someone nearby to help but it feels like it is your own place. We hated to leave, but felt so rejuvenated by our stay there.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on the third floor of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    40
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
330
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at Zero George. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The wine and cheese hour and breakfast were amazing - all fresh, homemade food and lots of it! The hotel itself is charming - beautifully restored, comfortable beds and furniture, upscale bedding, great spaces to sit and relax. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the suites (a total treat) but I have to imagine that all of the rooms were great as all of the other guests seemed happy too!

Room Tip: We were in the Anson Suite in the Carriage House. Not necessary but a treat if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just when you think you own the title "diva of knowledge" of everywhere possible to stay in Charleston, S.C., the coolest of cool U.S. cities, you find that there is a boutique hotel called Zero George that is calling your name. You find this out just when you want to organize a short retreat for your staff where they and you can envision the future of the company and at the same time be in a place that inspires.

That's Zero George. A place that takes you outside of yourself. Beautiful without being over the top. Creative without being in your face. Unexpected without being unfamiliar. Historic without being all about what was but what is.

Our team's two night stay was dreamy. The best beds and rooms. The best meeting room with the most super team serving our every need and at the highest level. The food was tops... not just good. Exceptional. We will stay again, and again. And there you have it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

One of my favorite hotels thus far! The property is incredible, very historic and cozy feel. The room was beautiful and simple and the bed was so comfortable. When we arrived, there was a private cooking class in progress. The chef was kind enough to stay and talk to us after his class. He recommended some incredible restaurants which we loved and offered some great cooking tips as well. The breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of options. They also host a happy hour with a complimentary glass of wine, cheeses and snacks which was a really nice touch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would love to return to Charleston for some more of the Zero George experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aslim89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just returned from a six-night stay in Charleston, our first visit there. Staying at the Zero George made our introduction to Charleston magical. The buildings are historic and beautiful with an intimate feel--more like staying in a gracious home than a hotel. Near the front desk is a lovely kitchen where the chef is often preparing something--we enjoyed that very much. The staff was attentive and did everything possible to make our stay more enjoyable, including valet parking our car, which we didn't want to see again until departure. They also recommended a walking tour that we took on our first day that really helped us get a feel for Charleston. Our room was beautifully appointed and gorgeously decorated, with a very comfy bed. The buffet breakfast was delicious, great coffee, homemade granola and fresh berries, excellent croissants (to name just a few of the offerings) and we looked forward to it every morning. We appreciated the complimentary glass of wine and cheese plate in the evening and chose to eat in the café twice during our stay because we enjoyed it so much the first time. We ended up trying everything on the menu and it was amazing. Upstairs from the café are a couple of rooms to enjoy while sipping a drink--and the décor reminded me of Paris. I found that to be so relaxing. There are beautiful candles lit in the evenings inside and on the porches that create a truly lovely ambiance. We cannot wait to return to Charleston and stay (and eat!) at Zero George again. We just didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Our room was up a flight of stairs which we enjoyed, but if you can't do stairs, but sure to tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiparisienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Spent the weekend recently at Zero George Hotel . It is beautiful! It is tucked away so you almost don't see it if you arrive at night. But as soon as you step into the courtyard, you admire the 4 or 5 beautifully restored 19th century houses and carriage houses. We had a wonderful suite that was invitingly decorated in beiges and whites with beautiful wooden floors. We looked out on our own private courtyard with a fountain that was like an outdoor room. Food is delicious ! I loved tempura green beans with the garlic aioli. You can walk everywhere from the hotel yet it is in a quiet neighborhood. I highly recommend Zero George Hotel. It is a real gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We recently returned from a 5 night stay at the Zero George hotel. The minute we pulled up we were so impressed by the beautiful gas lamps surrounding the property, the perfect landscape of the center courtyard and the southern charm of the beautiful old houses that make up the hotel. We were greeted by Mary Katherine who was very professional and sweet and quickly checked us in and showed us to our room. Our room was perfect. We run a small hotel in ourselves so have a high standard for cleanliness, the room totally exceeded our expectations. Our King room on the third floor was perfect size, the bathroom and closet were huge and luxurious, we couldn't have asked for more. In the early evening we were invited down for a complimentary glass of wine and a generous cheese plate. We were shocked that they do this every night of your stay...what a treat and serious value. Breakfast was perfect, beautifully presented and everything that you would need to start your day. The housekeepers were so incredibly friendly, everyone was very welcoming. We met Justin, one of the staff members, on our first night and he made our trip. He had great recommendations on where to go and what to do and he was so easy to talk with. The ambiance at night could not have been beat...candles everywhere...tons of little places to sit on the deck and courtyard...the details were really amazing. We are a young couple and we were looking for something fresh in Charleston...we like historic things but sometimes historic and old can be confused. At Zero George we were immersed in southern charm without sacrificing the modern comforts that we like. We would most definitely return to Zero George on our next trip to Charleston and have been recommending it to all of our friends. Thank you for a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2Butchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,801 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,997 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,100 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
992 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Property: Zero George Street
Address: 0 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1543
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing