We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zero George Street
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Zero George was perfect in every way. It lived up to all the excellent ratings and articles that have praised it. The staff was professional and friendly, the room was comfortable and clean, and the property was beautiful. I would recommend this property as number one to any Charleston visitors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    40
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
324
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay in the beautiful city of Charleston. This was our first time visiting the city and we really felt that Zero George captured all the charm and beauty that resonates throughout Charleston. Our room was beautifully appointed, cozy, and spacious... it felt as if we were staying at a friends home. The location was perfect... we easily walked everywhere and enjoyed taking our time touring the lovely homes on the nearby streets. We really enjoyed the wine and snacks offered each evening! We felt like we were the only guests staying, as it was quiet and relaxing the entire time we were there. I was in heaven, sitting with a glass of wine on the veranda by the flickering lanterns. We will absolutely be staying here again on our return to Charleston!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanessnjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Zero George in Charleston. Having been to Charleston a couple of times before, we were excited to stay at a wonderful hotel that was both comfortable and elegant. The accommodations were clean and relaxing - with very tasteful and elegant furnishings. We particularly enjoyed the beautiful and quiet courtyard, as well as the complimentary 5pm wine and cheese cocktail hour. We would definitely recommend staying here to anyone visiting Charleston!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlestonTrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

LOVED this hotel! It is a perfect quaint little hotel in the historic downtown Charleston area. The property has done some great restoration work that keeps you in the historic vibe of Charleston. You are also a good walking distance from King street and some great restaurants, so just park your car there and I would recommend moving everywhere on foot. I came to this hotel knowing the owner's other property in Virginia, a great vineyard with super great restaurant so I knew the hotel would be perfect just like their vineyard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grey1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you are looking to stay in a clean, quiet, romantic hotel/B&B, this is the place for you. We truly enjoyed the rustic yet modern feel of our accomodations, as well as the friendly staff. I really cant say enough about how the charm of this hotel enhanced our Charleston experience. The courtyard is a nice place to relax or have your complimentary glass of wine at Happy Hour- Sam was a really hospitable bartender. However, beware: only the first two glasses of wine are free, after that, they will charge you regardless of how long you are staying there). The complimentary breakfast was great, but I would suggest putting the yogurt and milk in an ice bath or cooling container of some sort, as well as checking that the bread does not have mold on it before serving. The location is a bit off the beaten path, so you will walk some to get to any action. However, this would definately not deter me from staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the side of the hotel that doesnt face East Bay, as that is a high traffic street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebgold777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel provides an extremely comfortable ambiance. The accomodations are clean, modern, and relaxing with a lovely courtyard and beautifully restored buildings. The pleasant young staff are helpful and friendly; with a generally refreshing lack of formality.

A couple of suggestions. The website welcomes requests for assistance or advice by Email or phone prior to arrival. My Email inquiries were successively not noted, and later not followed-up on by the staff. I then called, and had a very pleasant conversation with a staff member, but promised return Emails were not completely followed-through. This system needs to be tightened. Second, I might suggest some diversity of the breakfast items over the course of a few days.

Overall, a very enjoyable time; loved the late afternoon complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres.
Also had the small plates dinner and this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napleslen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A beautiful renovation of old Charleston buildings. Decorated to perfection. The staff pleasant and efficient. We loved the breakfast on the patio. All of Charleston's charm in a lovely courtyard.
A perfect relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#11 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Property: Zero George Street
Address: 0 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1543
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing