We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well done restoration at Zero George” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zero George Street
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well done restoration at Zero George”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice big rooms, comfy beds w/ nice linens...A/C rocks after day of walking the market & historical
areas. Nice sized bath w/ all amenties & great big walkin shower! Awesome breakfast & HH! Great way to spoil yourself here in Charleston...wife was happy w/ my selection of Zero George.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbeau61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    40
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
320
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Zero George Street is CHARING! Such pride was taken when restored and decorated with first class accessories combining old with new. I cannot say enough praise for the staff. They will take your luggage up the stairs and see to any of your needs. The linens, beds, and towels are very soft and comfortable. The bathroom well laid out and spacious. There is so much to explore - the sitting areas on the second floor, and the gardens. Just ask, and the staff is right on it with such passion to please you. I highly recommend this beautiful part of Charleston's charm.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and lots of stairs to climb - to be expected for a 200 year old Inn. If this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Zero George oozes it's own unique blend of elegance and friendly southern hospitality. Every detail has been thought out to make one feel spoiled and relaxed. Close to everything yet is tucked away and quiet.The buildings have been restored beautifully, displaying a melange of textures and colors from the variety of old stone and brick in the courtyard. Rooms are homey and spa like with soft colors and lighting, cotton bathrobes await exit from the shower room. The staff is friendly, helpful and relaxed, Appetizers and a glass of wine are offers before dinner, and a lovely breakfast and coffee in the morning. I will definitely stay at Zero George my next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow! What a fabulous place in Charleston! I am like an earlier reviewer that I hate to say how great the place is, because once the word is out, this place will be fully booked all the time! But it is stylish and charming through and through with attention paid to every last detail. The soft colors in the rooms are so soothing, the staff is efficient and very accommodating, the verandahs welcoming, honestly we had to force our selves to get out because we were so comfortable we could have just stayed there and been totally content! The afternoon wine and canapés were perfect and the breakfast spread offered something for everyone, don't miss the house made granola! This place is a real gem, and you will not be disappointed in any aspect of it! This place is just one more reason to return to Charleston!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myluckfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Zero George offers Southern Hospitality with a European twist. Aesthetically, we felt right and home and yet spoiled all at the same time. We had delightful, helpful encounters with the staff whom we came to trust completely. It's our pleasure to recommend Zero George Street.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cooper Building where we liked the privacy and the quiet it provided. The only thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in Charleston for 3 days and booked into the lovely Zero George. My husband and I travel a lot both inside America and internationally, and we always try to stay in off-the-beat boutique places to get away from corporate hotels - Zero George was perfect for this. The first thing that should be mentioned about the place is that the service deserves a 5*+ rating. The staff are very warm, helpful and professional to the standard that one expects in a place like this. The room was beautiful, with clean design and a nice use of different fabrics and the common areas very charming. They also do a complimentary pre-dinner wine and cheese that adds a nice touch. Having said that, what one gets for the price paid is not much out of the ordinary in comparison to other similar places that may be between 100-150 dollars less in price (in the same city/region). The breakfast was not very impressive, with pastries halved and not enough fruit / berries to go around. The unique thing about this place, however, is the beautiful way the building has been restored and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSharp_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I had the nicest stay at Zero George Street. I hate to write a good review because I know when people find out about it that they will stay booked up. We had no know idea what to expect when we arrived. We had never heard of it before, but reviews were enough to get us to give it a try. Who knew it would be far beyond anything we could have ever expected?! The rooms are beautiful in the historic buildings and updated to be so modern with every comfort you could want. We especially liked the beautiful gardens and verandas to sit out on and enjoy a nice glass of wine. They provided a breakfast with wonderful breads and pastries along with meats and cheeses that are completed with special coffees and juices. In the late afternoon, they provide wine and heavy h'ors duerves. What a wonderful way to relax after a day in Charleston. The staff was outstanding. Whether you needed dinner reservations or recommendations for tours in the city, they were helpful in any way possible. We must give a special shout out to Anthony and Katherine for superb service. There is NOTHING they could have done to make our stay any better. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2hipmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Property: Zero George Street
Address: 0 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing