We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and Gluten Free” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown Dog Deli

Brown Dog Deli
Ranked #12 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and Gluten Free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Took my wife who is Gluten Free and we both enjoyed a great meal. Atmosphere is great and the staff fantastic. Highly recommend going there. Will be making this one of my favorites

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    209
    34
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Delicious deli.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is by far my favorite place to eat. I love the unique delicious food that Brown Dog has to offer. Everything has great flavor and the service is very friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rutledgedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“My new favorite lunch spot in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Hawaiian Salmon Burger is perhaps the best sandwich I've ever had. Great location if you're out and about downtown. Very friendly servers who will guide you through the extensive lunch menu. Try it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkinCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
199 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Food & Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Their food is good. Each of us had something different and each of us was pleased. For downtown Charlestion, the prices were good. The staff was nice. They are dog friendly so feel free to bring fido along. They are in a rather old structure and this shows. This same element is a bit of charm. There was nothing to say outstanding - 5 stars. They are what you would or should expect. We have gone here before and will return again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank C P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“new downtown favorite ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Brown Dog Deli is one of my new favorite places to eat downtown! Their large menu and creative daily specials keep you coming back for more! It is hard to try new things because everything is so good you just want it again! The staff is great! The waitresses are always very helpful and very friendly! The overall atmosphere is great and there is even an outside patio that is dog friendly..great for the coming summer days! If you haven't tried this place yet you need to check it out! Beware they do get packed pretty early and there are not a ton of tables.

Helpful?
Thank Christin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Deli also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brown Dog Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing