We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great fun evening with family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre

The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre
164 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
18439376453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 53 Nightlife in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live theatre featuring clean comic whodunit shows, volunteer audience participation, a la carte appetizers, desserts, and drinks.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Charleston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fun evening with family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Booked as an entertainment during a visit by our 14 1/2 yr old (twins) grandchildren and my sister and brother-in-law. Saw "Inspector No Clue's Murder Mystery Show"; very happy that it was a "clean" comedy! Old-time who dun it, with sketch comedy, a puzzle contest, reasonable drinks and snacks available for purchase, and just lots of fun for everyone! My grans even volunteered to be part of the program and enjoyed doing their scripted lines at the right time. A mix of audience from teens to seniors, and all seemed as though they had a lot of fun! Convenient parking garage just up the street made the evening even better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    91
    22
    11
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comedy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Ok folks here it is. Southern flare on a Who Dunnit set. Mom n Pop comedy club. We laughed and enjoyed the actors and improve..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A short walk away from the Dock Street, this little theatre gave us a couple hours of fun and interaction with everyone from honeymooners to college reunionists. Thin plot with a fair amount of "schtik" and some audience participation. Lots of fun

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You can become a star.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

What fun and adventure as some of the audience members become the cast for a murder mystery based in Charleston. The regular cast members really had fun with the volunteers. The volunteers gave it their "Oscar Nominee" best to play out the original script. A unique venue and memorable night for all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
“Accidental but good fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Wife and I accidentally went to this because we thought it was an adult-oriented whodunnit attraction. We were surprised to find most of the attendees were families. Having no kids ourselves we were ready to leave, however we met one of the actors (can't remember your name!) who was from around our hometown.

We stayed around and -- Surprise -- it was fun! We had a good time laughing and relaxing and watching the kids enjoy the show. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Owner at The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Andrew, I believe you came to a Captain Blackbeard show that was particularly full of families! Thank you so much for the good review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing