We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bad group can be soooo "judgemental"”

The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live theatre featuring clean comic whodunit shows, volunteer audience participation, a la carte appetizers, desserts, and drinks.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having been to and taken lots of out of town guests to The Black Fedora since it opened, I find the 3 reviews from these "ladies" mean, rude, and hurtful. And they will not stop me from visiting the Black Fedora again! I like the fact that the show changes depending on the cast and the crowd. If you had a problem with other guests its your responsibility to tell the very small staff know. The waiters can't read minds and as long as people are laughing they see no problems. As for language and content, did your kids get offended? Oh, right it was someone elses children and they didn't leave or complain did they? I have found the 2nd act when the audience gets in to the act to be the funnest but you didn't stay and give them a chance. This sounds more like a case of "I spent too much money" and if I complain loudly enough I will get my way. Welcome to the south y'all where we bend over backwards to make people happy. Sometimes you just can't make yankees, I mean northerners, like you. For all the others that have enjoyed the Black Fedora, I'll see y'all there!

4  Thank scbusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 499 of 538 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great fun. Interactive and funny. Don't expect high class Theatah, this is campy and worth it. Service was great.

2  Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Coming from an individual who never writes reviews, let's say this triggered me to do so.

First, the description on the website states it's rated "G."
But The Black Fedora must mean "G" for Gonorrhea. The number of times it was said during the "play" was enough times for a 6 year old girl in the audience to ask her mother "Mommy, what is gonorrhea?"
Trust me, I heard it. Uncomfortable!

Side note: other words they considered "G" rated include: Syphilis and Viagra (hacky).

Second (hang on, this list is long), the script was confusing to even our table of adults. But maybe it was because we couldn't hear over the loud, obnoxious/drunk audience members sitting in front of us. Since the audience is small, they should be easily controlled. The staff members were close by to where they could hear them and could have asked them to quite down and/or leave.

Third, the cost of the play was $24.00. $26.04 to be exact and I would have crumpled that up and threw it in a drain before I saw that show again (the first half at least because we walked out at intermission). I would actually pay ($26.04) a potential audience member to NOT go to the "play."

Fourth, maybe I'm not the historian/live theater connoisseur that they're wanting to attract to The Black Fedora, but they lable themselves part "comedy" theater. It's a disgrace to comedy.

Fifth, my group, after walking out at intermission, submitted a review on this popular website revealing our displeasure with the play. Shortly after, we received a response from The Black Fedora stating "we are trying to decide if we need to ditch this show or what...sometimes it's terrible."

Finally, at the end of the day, we understand people's tastes in live theater can vary. If you have $26.04 in your pocket, may we suggest to take it to a local restaurant, ice cream shop, jewelry store, or buy a couple bags of boiled peanuts instead.

The Black Fedora, if you're willing to admit to one of your shows being "sometimes terrible," then you should stop production of it.

We returned to the theater the day after to ask for at least half of our money back and the gentlemen said no because it "was our choice" to see the show. Fair enough, it's my choice to post this review.

4  Thank Andersonk807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Owner at The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

You may notice that after months of great reviews we now have several very bad ones in a row. It should be obvious that these are from the same party who at an intermission told our waiter the show wasn’t what they expected and because two other guests were rude they were leaving. The waiter asked if he could do anything to help and they said no. The following day the bad reviews began, and the conversation we had the next day is nothing like one reviewer reports. Friends, if you attend our show and are unhappy, simply let us know at intermission and we will refund your ticket, comp your drink/dessert, and cheerfully point you to another great thing to do in our lovely city that’s more suited to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went for girl's night to enjoy an interactive Sherlock Holmes murder mystery. Instead we got nothing related to the website's description. The script was poorly written, not easy to follow, and made absolutely no sense. The content was inappropriate for the children there. The cast was less than amateur. The wait staff didn't offer us any food. We left at intermission and when we asked for our money back, the owner was rude.

3  Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Owner at The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

You may notice that after months of great reviews we now have several very bad ones in a row. It should be obvious that these are from the same party who at an intermission told our waiter the show wasn’t what they expected and because two other guests were rude they were leaving. The waiter asked if he could do anything to help and they said no. The following day the bad reviews began, and the conversation we had the next day is nothing like one reviewer reports. Friends, if you attend our show and are unhappy, simply let us know at intermission and we will refund your ticket, comp your drink/dessert, and cheerfully point you to another great thing to do in our lovely city that’s more suited to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Terrible. Five us is went. We all hated it and left at intermission. Not funny, not a mystery, a waste of money. Nothing at all what Sherlock Holmes mysteries whether comedy of not should be. We felt like the script had been written 10 minutes before show. Just horrible. Not recommended. Spend your charleston money on something more worthwhile

Thank readingrulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Owner at The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

You may notice that after months of great reviews we now have several very bad ones in a row. It should be obvious that these are from the same party who at an intermission told our waiter the show wasn’t what they expected and because two other guests were rude they were leaving. The waiter asked if he could do anything to help and they said no. The following day the bad reviews began, and the conversation we had the next day is nothing like one reviewer reports. Friends, if you attend our show and are unhappy, simply let us know at intermission and we will refund your ticket, comp your drink/dessert, and cheerfully point you to another great thing to do in our lovely city that’s more suited to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing