We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garbage.”

The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live theatre featuring clean comic whodunit shows, volunteer audience participation, a la carte appetizers, desserts, and drinks.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went for girl's night to enjoy an interactive Sherlock Holmes murder mystery. Instead we got nothing related to the website's description. The script was poorly written, not easy to follow, and made absolutely no sense. The content was inappropriate for the children there. The cast was less than amateur. The wait staff didn't offer us any food. We left at intermission and when we asked for our money back, the owner was rude.

3  Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Owner at The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

You may notice that after months of great reviews we now have several very bad ones in a row. It should be obvious that these are from the same party who at an intermission told our waiter the show wasn’t what they expected and because two other guests were rude they were leaving. The waiter asked if he could do anything to help and they said no. The following day the bad reviews began, and the conversation we had the next day is nothing like one reviewer reports. Friends, if you attend our show and are unhappy, simply let us know at intermission and we will refund your ticket, comp your drink/dessert, and cheerfully point you to another great thing to do in our lovely city that’s more suited to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 486 of 522 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Terrible. Five us is went. We all hated it and left at intermission. Not funny, not a mystery, a waste of money. Nothing at all what Sherlock Holmes mysteries whether comedy of not should be. We felt like the script had been written 10 minutes before show. Just horrible. Not recommended. Spend your charleston money on something more worthwhile

Thank readingrulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Owner at The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

You may notice that after months of great reviews we now have several very bad ones in a row. It should be obvious that these are from the same party who at an intermission told our waiter the show wasn’t what they expected and because two other guests were rude they were leaving. The waiter asked if he could do anything to help and they said no. The following day the bad reviews began, and the conversation we had the next day is nothing like one reviewer reports. Friends, if you attend our show and are unhappy, simply let us know at intermission and we will refund your ticket, comp your drink/dessert, and cheerfully point you to another great thing to do in our lovely city that’s more suited to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The murder mystery show was entertaining. But most of the credit has to go to the audience participation. We were lucky with a great croud who really got involved and made it fun. The cast itself was so-so. The food (terrible!) and the drinks - wine coolers, really? But it was a lot of fun.
Go, and hope for a fun croud! We did and it turned out great.

Thank Heather92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Owner at The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi, TripAdvisor readers! I'm really hoping this reviewer will let me know whether she ordered some food and didn't like it, or whether she didn't like the selections. So sorry to hear it! We buy fresh Sabra hummus, pita bread, chips and salsa, bakery cookies and ice cream, buffalo wings, blue cheese, celery, Cheesecake Factory cheesecakes, and more every week. I put together the queso dip and bake chocolate lava cakes at home. We offer beer and wine of all varieties, including wine coolers! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I enjoyed the Charleston History Mystery on a Sunday afternoon. Everyone associated with The Black Fedora were so nice and welcoming. The show itself was great and the group participation made it all the better.

Highly Recommend!

3  Thank SouthernCharm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Loved this place. The cast was wonderful. They involved many of the audience members & had the whole place roaring with laughter. When things didn't go as planned with a reading, they improvised which was even funnier! Each cast member did a superb job! We were thoroughly entertained for every minute of the show. I was sorry when the mystery was solved. My friends & I have attended these types of mystery/interactive shows on other travels, but this was by far the best one we've ever attended. I would definitely recommend this show!

3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing