We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Waste of Money”

The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live theatre featuring clean comic whodunit shows, volunteer audience participation, a la carte appetizers, desserts, and drinks.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What a Waste of Money”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

They billed it as a "whodunnit" but the only thing the audience had to guess was who had a missing lottery ticket. The premise of the play was about getting your Christmas wish(es) which turned it into a cheesy Hallmark Channel Christmas special (complete with, you guessed it, an angel). The dialogue/script was sophomoric and the "adult" humor sprinkled in just made it even more pathetic. If it weren't for the $24/each we paid for admission we would've left at intermission.

In one of the first scenes, a guy in a Santa suit comes in with a rifle pointed at the audience. We thought that was in poor taste just 7 days after the Newtown shooting. The play continues with 2 out of the 4 actors who did little more than read the lines they were given. A few of the audience members who were chosen as part of the audience participation portion were better than the professionals we paid to see. Thank goodness for them!

From what we could tell, most of the theatregoers were there as part of an office (or club) Christmas party. They squeezed a few of us Christmas party crashers at random tables and we were all packed in like sardines. Thankfully the office party people had been drinking a bit before the show started because the audience was more entertaining than the community theatre rejects that we paid to see.

I am a huge supporter of live theatre, have seen hundreds of plays and musicals of all genres both amateur and professional, and have performed as a singer and dancer for several years. But never have I wanted to walk out of a show before and not see it through to the end. They really need better scripts, better actors and cheaper ticket prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mommydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry W, Owner at The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I am so sorry this reviewer had a bad experience at our theatre. Our intention is for all our guests to have an evening of relaxation and laughter, and while our Christmas show is less of a "whodunit" than our other shows, we still wanted guests to have a little mystery to solve. And believe me, we parents of a kindergartener are stunned to hear that anyone took our good-hearted Santa character running out with a Red Ryder BB gun in another light than we intended it. We've only been open for a few months, and we are still figuring out how to deal with the huge crowds we've had lately. We've turned many people away, and obviously we should have turned more away that night. Our intention is for everyone to be comfortably seated in our banquets or around tables -- we are trying to avoid the knee-to-knee seating we've all experienced at popular comedy clubs or other entertainment venues. We hope other TripAdvisor reviewers will come see us, have a great time, and share their experience here. Thank you, TripAdvisor, for the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    106
    24
    12
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Black Fedora presents a mystery/comedy play that uses the audience as actors in the play. It is hilarious and lots of fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Not Quite What I Expected”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I attended a Tuesday night performance of "Sweet T. Christmas." After reading all of the great reviews, we decided that this was a must-do in Charleston. While we really did enjoy the show, especially the interactive part, we're not sure we felt that the amateur nature of the performance warranted the $24 price of admission. For the money we definitely expected a high quality performance, but this was not it (as far as the acting was concerned). I'm assuming that maybe they use the more experienced performers on weekends or something and perhaps that's why it wasn't what we expected. Having said that, it was still lots of fun and it was an enjoyable experience on a Tuesday evening; however, just make sure you know going in not to expect professional acting, and you'll have a great time!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrRider075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally funny!! Excellent fun!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I arrived on a last minute getaway from Northeastern NC. We didnt really have any plans except this show. We had a fantastic time!!!! Cool little place, silly actors, great location. Clever script and audience interaction (the part they gave my hubby was totally hysterical). This is not a dinner theater so eat before you go but..... The chocolate mousse cheesecake was AWESOME so save room for desert.
Good luck figuring out who the killer is... the cast does a great job disguising the answer.

Only suggestions: 1. If you buy your tickets before hand - call and make seating reservations. (it is a quaint, "cozy" (hint hint) location) 2. Take a sweater or cover if you are sensitive to the chill. The space's small stature allows the a/c to work very very well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Entertainment”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have been to other mystery shows in the country and I have to say that this was the best show I have seen. It's a great value for wonderful entertainment. The staff and entertainers are amazing. It's the one place where you can actually go early and pick your seat. They are very interactive with the audience. They will make you laugh so hard you'll cry. Thanks for a fabulous evening. We will definitely be going back to see their additional shows.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BritniPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing