We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service”

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 898 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Grill, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Executive Chef Vince Carino exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Brandon C., our waiter, was excellent! He was so personable and attentive. Lobster and grits were very good. Ribeye very good. Trout was excellent. Take note--we got there @ 5:30 pm and were seated at the third table in the front. Those of us that faced the street were blinded by the sunlight bouncing off the buildings across the street. We couldn't see the faces of the people across the table from us. There is no screen or shades on the windows. I had to wear my sunglasses throughout dinner to be comfortable. If you make reservations, ask to be seated at the tables facing the walls, you do not want to face the street if the sun is up. Rooftop bar and lounge is very nice and they grow their own herbs etc. up there. Nice place, fun, worth the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhcrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    136
    55
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
215 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, for a pretty penny”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Went here with another couple that loves this place. Atmosphere is beautiful, mostly the bar on the roof top.
Service was good, but food took a very long time to get and server mistakenly told us they were out of crab until after dinner we found out he was wrong.
I had their signature steak and grits which was excellent, but small portion.
My wife had the crab soup and crab cake. The soup was okay and the cake was delucious, but needed a sauce.
All in all, nice place, expensive, with all the options in Charleston...I wouldnt choose to come back unless it was for drinks on the rooftop.

Helpful?
Thank Coffey070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I had a dinner reservation for 7:00 p.m. We arrived early to check out the Rooftop Bar. It was lovely and relaxing. There's one bar and seating arrangements around the roof. Comfortable place for a pre or post dinner drink.

The restaurant is an open floor design and was bustling with an open kitchen along the back wall. My husband had the ribs and I had the butternut squash risotto dish. Both meals were absolutely delicious! Great service, professional and friendly.

We highly recommend dining here and if we are ever back in Charleston, it will be our first stop!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deecee727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very crowded on a Friday Night (surprise). But were able to sit a bar without a wait. Food was OUTSTANDING... Wife had lobster & grits... EXCELLENT presentation and taste. I had the rotisserie special which was pork shoulder. Very most, very tasty. Loved the grilled peas and asparagus. Wife loved their pluff mud pudding.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl_MTPSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good for Easter Brunch”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The buffet for Easter was really delicious. The biscuits amazing. The Kale Salad was so wonderful - I would love to have the dressing bottled. Shrimp and Grits, Fried Chicken Benedict, made to order omelets (they even have us a form to mark what you wanted on your omelet at the table - which the waiter took and they delivered to the table!) The only issue we had was stuffing 8 people into a booth. We arrived a few minutes early for the reservation at the start of brunch when they were mostly empty - first wanted us to sit at the front door - after request moved us in by 2 booths. The booth would have been tight for 6 people - 8 people sliding in and out for brunch was a not comfortable. Really was not a reasonable seating arrangement. Only think that saved us was that we had several small college aged girls with us and not adult men.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing