We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Brunch!”

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #149 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, Healthy, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Executive Chef Vince Carino exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Brunch!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had eaten at Amen Corner for lunch on Saturday and they had a menu for Stars brunch. After siteseeing Sunday morning, we arrived at Stars around 12:30 with no waiting. The brunch menu had the usual faire of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, biscuits and french toast. These standard foods were very good with the quality of the food being very high. The bacon was thick and delicious and the french toast was outstanding.

In addition to this standard faire, the brunch included a salad and dessert bar. The salad area included grilled asparagus salad, tomato salad (locally grown), watermelon and goat cheese salad, kale salad and an assortment of cheeses. The salads were extrmeley well done and had great presentation.

The dessert bar included 5 or 6 desserts wtih twists. All were tried by the table and found to be delicious.

The only negative for me was the price. Adults were $22.50 and children were $10.50.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    142
    61
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Terrific brunch”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Have dined here for business events by evening and found the feel a little sterile. But...Sunday brunch proved delightful. The mix of cold, warm and a dessert selection is so beautifully presented. We sampled everything...veggies, fruits, meats and more. Local sourcing matters. Well trained servers, generous spirit and solid kitchen made this one we will return for again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pluffmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsicana, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service and Delicious Food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Most of our group of 10 had steak in one form or another, and everyone's was delicious. A couple of us had the fish special-equally delicious. We had several appetizers, since on member of our group had a delayed flight. The staff was very accommodating and did not make us feel rushed. Drinks were unique, and they have a nice size wine list. It was a special evening. This is really an adult restaurant, but we had a child with us so we made early reservations. It was fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDFAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good but not special”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Trendy steakhouse for impressing a date. Great food super service. Right as we crossed the street to come in, the rain came down. No rooftop visit that night. Very busy so reservations a must. More menu selections would have been welcomed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooftop Experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple dined at Stars this past Saturday evening. We discovered that although the establishment was well adorned with the trappings of fine dining, the noise level was unacceptable, which took away from a pleasant dining experience. Our entree selections were okay, but the highlight went to an incredible dessert: Some type of s'mores pie, which was out of the this world. And most importantly, our server, Christina, made the whole experience memorable--her charm and knowledgable approach to assisting us made the noisy experience far more tolerant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing