We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Charleston's best new restaurants!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #126 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Grill, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Executive Chef Nathan Thurston exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of Charleston's best new restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went Friday (May 17) with some friends and wow...amazing meal! Such a cool vibe. A little loud but a great place! We started off with the beef carpaccio and bacon tater tots which were life altering...definitely recommend. I had the beef shoulder steak which was incredible and portions are quite large. My fiance' had the skate (fish similar to a scallop) and it was delicious as well. Prices were reasonable for Charleston too. Afterward we finished our evening on the rooftop deck which was incredible. Definitely recommend. As a Charleston local, it is always great to find new, cool spots to visit. We will definitely be back. Too many good things on the menu to try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    134
    52
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude Staff Member”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

On Sat., May 18, 2013 @ about 7:30 pm we had a group of 12-15 people that were celebrating a small wedding. We walked to Stars and a sidewalk sign announced "Rooftop Open" and in we went. When we got to the stairs to go to the roof, a Stars employee guarding the stairs stated, "Private party! You can't go up." I asked if they realized their sidewalk sign indicated that rooftop was open & he rudely replied, "It's not my sign!" I'm sure other staff probably have better manners when speaking to a lady but I certainly have no issues spending my money elsewhere based on this single experience. Our growing group gladly went to another location w/ great service and friendly staff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumerville
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Five stars for Stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The food was impeccably delicious, and the service was outstanding. Bring your billfold though, it is quite pricy, but well worth it! The ambience is very nice, especially on the rooftop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jothad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Over hyped and noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Perhaps one of the worst experiences this year. We were a large party in three adjacent locations with three servers. Tables one and two were completely served and finished with their meal before table three was served. Aanager came byand offered free desert (wow) but other than menus we never saw af desert of any kind. I'm not hard to please as you can see from my reviews but this was unacceptable. I was not the host so I kept quiet until now! Food was not bad but service ruined the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wyoming88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Rooftop bar is nice..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a few drinks, later in the evening, up on the bar. We went on a weekday, so not too crowded at all and a pretty relaxed crowd (I could imagine it being very different on a weekend or with more college kids). It was cool enough when we were there for them to have heat lamps on, but still comfortable and fun to be up there. A good view and a nice spot for a few drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEMP527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing