We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Country Bistro. South Market”
Review of LowCountry Bistro

LowCountry Bistro
Ranked #42 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Church Street and South Market
Description: SIMPLY LOWCOUNTRY: Lowcountry Bistro focuses only on the freshest ingredients since all of the food we cook is from scratch. On the menu you will find cult favorites like Chicken and Waffles to Lowcountry classics like Shrimp and Grits. We also believe that great food can be affordable. Many of our lunch dishes are under $10. Our goal as a restaurant is to serve high quality, delicious food, at a fair price. We hope you agree after your meal at Lowcountry Bistro. SISTER RESTAURANT TO 82 QUEEN As an icon of the city for over 30 years, we have seen restaurants come and go. We pride ourselves on the fact that we were one of the first original Lowcountry cuisine restaurants to open their doors in the city. We know Lowcountry and after diligently researching Market Street restaurants, have come to the conclusion that what the area needs is a true, authentic Lowcountry restaurant.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Low Country Bistro. South Market”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had my first Chicken and Waffles. Don't knock it if you had not tried it before. 1/2 Chicken on top of a whole wheat waffle with a Bourbon Sauce Mmm, Mmm good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    490
    147
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Make sure to eat here.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The she crab soup here is creamy and thicker; and loaded with taste. Had soft shell crab and wife had Maui Maui. Both were excellent so I'm sure everything else is.
Our server Eric was wonderful. He was perfect with keeping check on us. He also told us about the area and places we had to see. He is a great representative for the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevenhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing cuisine!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The chicken and waffle and frogmore stew are delicious! I've had both dishes before and none can compare to lowcountry bistro! I can tell a lot of love and dedication were put into the food! It's a great spot for a delicious southern meal!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashlie714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

If you go there you should sit outside on the veranda. From this you are overlooking the street and parts of the market.

We took the crab cake as appetizer, which was very tasty but a bit pricy for the size. The main courses were both very good and "something different". I had the goat cheese on mushrooms with sweet potatoes and my husband the crispy chicken on a waffle. The service was very good, charming and quick

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food and Great Service”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I cannot believe that the same people who own this restaurant owns 82 Queen. 82 Queen is supposed to be an upscale to the Bistro, however, it is the exact opposite.

Food was very well prepared. Wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Prices were mid-range......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LowCountry Bistro also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to LowCountry Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing