We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Country Victorian

Country Victorian
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Victorian
Ranked #27 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Kingsport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

The location was great...in the heart of the historic district so we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. It was close to the wharf and peer, downtown, the Market Square, and tons of restaurants and shops. Ms. Weed was very helpful by providing brochures, coupons and information to help us get around. We had the King bed room and found the bed very comfortable and the room quiet. Having been built in the early 1800's, the home has survived many hurricanes and earthquakes. It has a very faint musty smell as you first enter, however I found that the smell was gone by the time we walked up the steps to the room. Also, many homes this old have floors that are not exactly level. That is the case in this home, however it was very mild. My husband and I thought our room charming, and we loved the fact that it was so old and enduring. We only found a few notes, and having rented our home before, we know from experience that not everyone knows how to treat "real wood" furniture" and bathrooms in a truly old home. It only takes 1 out of 100 people to ruin an antique chair or table - something not easily replaced. The TV was small and older, but we didn't mind as we only watched the news for a brief time. Outside, the paint was peeling, but inside was clean and had been lovingly decorated with very nice antiques. We had a wonderful breakfast that was very satisfying and delicious. We also had fun meeting the other guests while we enjoyed our breakfast. For what we needed, this was a great place for us to stay, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Charming historic home in a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tntravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    2
    2
    16
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Upon driving into driveway we noticed the shabby condition of the house. Paint was peeling off the house and a dirt driveway. Our room was not inside the house but out back. Exterior of the building was in very poor condition. The room was very small and had a window air conditoner. The room was cluttered with junk on the walls and notes. We did not stay here because the room was so depressing. Do not stay here unless you are very desperate! We stayed downtown on Meeting St. at the Indigo Inn for the same price with parking included.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reiseha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Everything you read in the negative reviews about this place are true... and I can't imagine why anyone has anything good to say about it... they just must be the most forgiving people in the world.

You will not enjoy the slave quarters you sleep in or all the rules. The breakfast is laughable.

Don't do it.. don't stay here.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank effielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

I have stayed in many dozens of B&Bs all over the country over more than 20 years.. Apart from one absolutely dreadful place in Rehoboth Beach, NJ (that provided a list of 18 rules, including that guests were not to swim naked or urinate in their pool), Charleston's Country Victorian vies next among the very worst. All of the above negative comments from others are true -- the tiny room out back and small uncomfortable bed and hearing the next room's conversation through the thin wall; the DOZENS of insulting and idiotic written notes of everything from A to Z that the guest is not to do!; the having to remove shoes to stay in a very small, very poorly appointed back room; the inability to enter any other rooms in the very large home; the very inconvenient parking situation; the creepy tiny breakfast room with the absolutely AWFUL and sparse breakfast; the having to pay cash ($200 for one awful night!) up front; etc. etc. -- what really creeped me out was the decor! Among lots of silly chintzy stuff was a gun over the door and the walls absolutely covered with coat hangers! There was something really sinister about it, and gave off such bad vibes that, had there been any other option of where to stay that night, we would have left straight away. I have stayed in places from luxurious to very humble throughout the U.S. and in many other countries, including developing countries, but this was one of the worst places I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunray220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

As seasoned B&B guests, my husband and I knew our stay at the Country/Victorian B&B would not be our best when we pulled up in front of the house. We were greeted by a front yard of bare dirt and weeds--this in sharp contrast to the finely-tended gardens of the surrounding homes. The second bad sign was the torn screen on the door to our unit. We entered our VERY musty hall where a storage area was being "hidden" by a screen of stapled-together shelf paper (was this part of the "country" or "Victorian" theme?). Imagine our surprise when, at this point, we were instructed to remove our shoes while in the house. This included leaving our shoes on the porch when we went into breakfast!

The windows in our TV room were so filthy that we thought it was foggy and rainy out. In reality, it was a beautiful day. The socket by the bathroom sink was actually loose, and it seemed "iffy" to use (it did work).

This is a property that badly needs to be painted and a lot of TLC. On the plus side, the hostess was pleasant and helpful, the location is great for touring the historic district and the bedroom/bathroom were clean.

Overall, stay here only if you can't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnthegoPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at this B&B. Unfortuantely this is not going to be a good review!! From the very beginning of the process there were issues. First of all upon booking we should have been clued in by the the fact that the proprietor demanded cash!!!! It cost $336 which was not easily obtained at a moments notice. No Credit Cards!!! No receipt for the payment!!. Upon arrival we were "instructed" to remove our shoes when entering the premises (old braided and ratty rugs on floor..??). This included the room as well as the dinning room.(It was really cold during this stay..so our feet were freezing)!! Upon entering our room we found notes everywhere such as "Pillow shams are decorative don't lay on them." We are mature, professional, adults and were much insulted by some of the ridiculous notes!! There was a space heater to provide heat, which was totally inadequate for the space!! We were soooooo cold all the time!!. In the evening before going to dinner we requested that the heat be turned up. It was colder in the room the next morning, probably around 55 degrees!! Parking.....we asked if we could park our car in her 200 + foot long driveway. The streets were very narrow and we were fearful for our auto. She denied our request, then reluctantly gave in and let us park there after 11:00. The whole house was closed off...the only space we had to use was a tiny breakfast room.There was no sitting area as we have experienced in all of the other B&B's we have stayed in. Oour friends we were visiting (who enjoy B&B's like we do), wanted to see our accomodations...we told them there was no where to sit and enjoy a glass of wine together... Not only were the sheets not changed the bed was not made between nights. We used up all the coffee, and it was not replaced for the next morning!! We requested an early departure breakfast of 8:30 and were told that it could not be accomodated. Breakfast was sparse and simple!!!. The TV is tiny and VERY outdated..with a VERY small and uncomfortable wicker loveseat...lucky to get a couple of channels!! We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts all over the US and this is by far the worst experience we have ever had. We felt like we were a huge INCONVENIENCE to the owner!! Iit was all about what is convenient for HER!! She should not be in the Hospitality/ service industry!! We both own our own businesses, and know about customer seervice!! We felt like all she wanted was our money up front, and once she got that...she could have cared less about us!!! Highly NOT RECOMMENDED.!!!! BE FOREWARNED!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

Do not pay for this B&B up front! We paid for 3 days' accommodations and then couldn't leave because it would have been a huge waste of money. This place is not cheap! What didn't we like? The quick list: Dusty rooms, chipped paint, weak water flow in toilet (there was trouble), no walking in shoes, no baby powder, no putting coffee cup on placemat, no hair dryer or curler except in bathroom, no opening windows, no lifting blinds, no sitting on quilted bedspread, single, short bed given (knowingly) to 6'2" man, walking past a large room of utter junk to get to our room, antique coat hangers for wall decorations, malfunctioning window box air conditioner, no outside light allowed on while you're out, breakfast was cold and small, and parking was not as easily available as advertised. Oh, Buyer, Beware!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PattyPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
The Elliott House Inn
#32 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Charlestowne
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Governor's House Inn
#4 of 40 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
French Quarter
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Charlestowne
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Victorian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Victorian

Property: Country Victorian
Address: 105 Tradd St, Charleston, SC 29401-2422
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Country Victorian Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing