We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property-loved the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Just left here and really loved it. Property is huge and gorgeous, with a great pool sitting off of the river. The hotel structures are very modern on the outside, while the rooms are akin to a very nice log cabin-rustic but still really nice. I loved the hotel, though breakfast was pretty basic. I look very forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank doberman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here and loved everything about the place. The staff was very polite and helpful. The room was clean and neat and I loved the large tub and the bath salts that were provided. The free breakfast was delicious and had a lot to choose from. We are already planning our next trip later this year since we were not able to do everything in such a short amount of time. I highly recommend this place for anyone that enjoys a quite get away with beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our breakfast, included in the room rental, was very nice and we had many excellent items from which to choose.

Thank johnedwardalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you for pointing out the inclusion of the Healthy Start Breakfast! With homemade muffins and granola, oatmeal, non-sugared cereals and local products it is a great addition to a stay! Of course, however, as we are very proud of our southern location the cooked-to-order breakfast offers a sampling of many of the Low Country's fabulous offerings, some not very healthy but oh so good! Come back and visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

While it rained a good bit of the time we were there, everything was still lovely. It was obvious it does that a good bit there with all of the umbrella located everywhere. Service was excellent thruout and we enjoyed both dinner and the included very nice breakfast. It is remote and we wish we had planned to stay for at least a couple of days so we could have enjoyed everything the Inn had to offer on this trip but we will be returning, perhaps next fall so we can enjoy the fireplace.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are very nice and worth the small upcharge. Suggest ground floor rooms are easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnedwardalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have never stayed anywhere more peaceful. The grounds are beautiful. Absolutely do the museum and tour. When I booked this hotel, it was because it was a nice enough looking place that was close to Charleston. I honestly could've spent my vacation without ever leaving the Inn's property. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: With floor to ceiling windows offering a view of the forrest or the river, all of the rooms are fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilMissMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is one of the most unappealing places we have ever stayed. When you enter the property from the main road, you travel over a dirt road that is like a roller coaster. This continues throughout the entire property. There are no signs indicating building numbers or room locations and there is nearly a complete absence of common area lighting. You need a flashlight at all times. I will say that one was provided in the room but who wants to stay in a hotel that operates like a summer camp? The room, although very rustic, was worn but not unattractive. The bathroom was very dated and had a tub/shower combination that was EXTREMELY difficult and hazardous for even an in-shape athlete to get in and out of. We would never stay here again under any circumstances.
On a positive note, the front desk staff was extremely professional, pleasant and helpful. Once we found the Lake House where breakfast is served, we entered the nicest building on the property and were served a delicious continental breakfast. Again, the staff was pleasant and professional.
We had dinner at the Middleton Place restaurant on the adjacent estate and enjoyed it very much. We would go back there for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArtWorldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

I’m sorry that you felt The Inn was unappealing. We try to keep the website updated with current pictures and are very blunt about what to expect while on property. We make no excuses for who we are, we are proud of the unique architecture, simple furnishings and natural surroundings but recognize it isn't for everyone. Each building does have signs listing room numbers and room numbers are posted by room doors. The tub/shower is in no way hazardous, and the ledge to climb into can be used as a seat for someone unsure of the step over. It is certainly a positive that you found staff professional and pleasant. We can always continue to work on the surrounds with updates but a great staff is a huge benefit. Thank you for your time and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

One of favorite places to stay! It is so relaxing and so pretty. I enjoyed kayaking through the swamp. Be careful on the bike trail because of the snakes on the property. The picnic lunch was delicious and the bar area made a special sandwich for me. The welcome reception is always very nice! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travellady78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Glad to hear you enjoyed some of the outdoor amenities! All areas of the Inn are home to the natural low-country residents. We do our best to leave them be, and they us, but sometimes our paths cross. It is one of the treasures of being in a natural environment. Come back and visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
1,010 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#19 of 62 in Charleston
1,686 reviews
Indigo Inn
#15 of 62 in Charleston
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $182 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing