We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 22, 2014

What an amazing getaway right in our backyard! The rooms have floor to ceiling windows and huge wood burning fireplaces (they provide the wood). The happy hour at the Lodge is cozy and the service is wonderful. They have board games and a relaxing atmosphere. We will definitely be back in the Spring where you can play Croquet, corn hole and Bocce on the lawn. There is also a pool located right on the river. There are bikes and kayaks for your use as well.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river and close to the Lodge on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Middleton Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed for two nights in January. The Inn is set on a gorgeous site on the Ashley river. Visiting the adjoining plantation and gardens is a must. Entrance is included for hotel guests. The self guided tour takes about 2 hours, including the leisurely walk from the Inn. We enjoyed watching the sunset while having complimentary wine and appetizers at "the Lodge". Breakfast is basic, with the option of cooked items at an extra charge. I prefer a light breakfast considering the vast amount of comfort food that would come later. Downtown Charleston is an easy 25 minute drive and worth visiting at least for an evening, particularly the "South of Broad" area. Highly recommend Poogan's Porch for dinner. However, returning to this peaceful retreat at night is really what made the weekend special. The Middleton Place Restaurant served a terrific and super romantic dinner for our last night.

There were a couple of minor issues that unfortunately preclude a perfect score. First issue was that we did not get housekeeping service on the second day. We were in town all afternoon so there really is no excuse. The hotel apologized, however, and offered us fresh towels and water bottles. Secondly, we found the beds to be quite sagging and uncomfortable.

All in all, this place was terrific and we certainly enjoyed it!

Room Tip: stay on the second floor if you can
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SocalNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as a few days without the kids in December. Its a very simple quiet escape. It won't overwhelm you with opulence or anything but if you are looking to get away its perfect. The whole set-up enables you to enjoy the nature and the quiet of the area. We walked the gardens one day and they are nice to enjoy even in December when the flowers weren't in bloom. We took a horseback ride in the afternoon as well - which again offered nice views. We really enjoyed the restaurant - great food and good settting. We both thought the happy hour was a nice touch as well and had a drink outside watching the sun go down over the river and marsh. So the whole set-up enables you to stay on the site for the day and enjoy a quiet day - just what we needed.


Second night we drove into Charleston and its probably a 20 min drive but still very accessible. We tried a fire but even with the firestarter log going for 15 minutes, we never got the wood provided really going which was disappointing as it was a rainy night one night and fire would have been perfect.

Room Tip: We had a river view room which was nice but honestly not sure it was worth the extra price.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with our young daughter after Christmas and had a wonderful three nights. For us Middleton Place is about the beautiful setting, the proximity to the historic landscape gardens and the stunning modern architecture of the inn itself. If you don't like modernist architecture then it might not be your cup of tea, but any one with an appreciation for this kind of thing will be blown away. I am struck by how many of the negative comments relate to the architecture - which is sad, as in my opinion this must be one of the best modern buildings in the US. The drive into Charlston was very nice as well, as were the great restaurants in town.

Thoroughly recommend the restaurant in the grounds of Middleton Place as well - excellent food.

Each room has its own open fire place with logs and fire starter kit in winter. The room also had a very homely and simple feel - with wooden floors and furniture.

Areas for improvement - breakfast is only really adequate and would benefit from more savoury options and the bathrooms are a little annoying - the shower head is very low.

Room Tip: I'd go for one on the middle or upper floor for a better view. Although bottom floor has access...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Getafix_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Wonderful surprise. I wasn't sure about not staying in Charleston itself, but this Inn exceeded my expectations, and when I finally did venture into the city to see the Battery district, it was lovely, but I wanted to return to my beautiful solitude. The rooms are nice, all cypress wood floors and reminded me of an upscale schooner. The bathroom was huge and had a lovely soaking tub that was perfect after the long hikes I took. There was a fireplace and they provided wood to make it even more cozy. All around are gorgeous grounds with Spanish moss, and the lovely Ashley River. I visited in January so the creatures were asleep, but I am sure a summer visitor would find ample wildlife milling in the swamp ponds on the property. It's an amazing place full of serenity, pet friendly for small pets, our two toy dogs LOVED it. There is a seasonal pool, kayaks and bike rentals. Breakfast is provided and there is wine and cheese n the evening. Next door there is the lovely and interesting Middleton Place that is included in the stay and well worth visiting. Love this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbarazway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We really enjoyed it here and got a good rate through Tripadvisor. The rooms are large with floor to ceiling windows and the bathrooms are crazy big. The shower was short and a tall person could not have showered in it. We had a Queen standard room and it was fine, the bed was not the most comfortable one on our trip. The property is outstanding and the rates include full access to many of the tours. We took the tour of the house and it was great. We also enjoyed the beautiful gardens and just spending time there was lovely. We wished we were there long enough to go kayaking and enjoy other things they had to offer. I think it would be a great place to spend a few days and enjoy Charleston and surrounding areas.
Our one complaint would be their "Welcome Reception" was anything but welcoming. They definitely have the wrong employee working there. She did not make us feel welcome at all. Offered us no refreshment or information, we had to ask if we were in the right place. It was a terrible first impression of the Inn.
Other than that we loved it! History galore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myshorepath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great relaxing place...left a birthday cake for me! Enjoyed great walks and the Middleton Place restaurant is deeeelicious! My only complaint for our room is the very small tv with terrible reception.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apaxton19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
967 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $171 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing