We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leisure time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Leisure time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Incredible vacation for the price! We went mid-week during summer & it was very serene with a lower occupancy. A wedding party arrived toward the end of the week & things got considerably noisier. Loved the river views, pool, manager's happy hour, lake house breakfast and access to the plantation- all included in the room price. Service was impeccable everywhere - the staff really outdoes itself. Rooms all open to outside & are decorated in a sparse/rustic Danish modern design - lots of wood & windows. (one regret - we would not be able to come in winter as all rooms have wood burning fireplaces & I have asthma)The mattress seemed brand new but the pillows and sheets were old, worn and uncomfortable. TV is tiny and aged. I understand room renos are in the works. Kayak and Horseback riding available, and the gardens of the plantation are just magnificent, especially near sundown when tourists are gone and it's just open to Inn guests. 30-45 minute drive to anywhere, but well worth it to make as a home base to come back to if touring Charleston. One complaint - would love the hedges separating the pool & river to be cut - it would make such a lovely view when lounging on the pool deck.

Room Tip: No elevators, all stairways open to the elements, so get a first-floor room if you have knee problem...
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the recycling bin in each room. Did not like the shampoo/conditioner - dried my hair out badly.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Must_Love_Chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    318
    128
    67
    36
See reviews for
240
846
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Before we got there, I noticed that somehow our reservation was for 2 people, not 4. I called and they immediately got us a room with a pull-out couch bed for my 3 year old and offered to have a portable crib waiting on us for our 18 month old. (This was no easy feat I'm sure since it was the week of 4th of July and everywhere was totally booked.)

The rooms are spectacular; just the perfect mix of rustic retreat and modern architecture. My 18 month old loved the walls of windows and shutters; we all loved the bathroom. The staff was SO accommodating. Naturally, we forgot beach towels and they brought us mountains of towels for bathing and beach time every day. (Some hotels are SO WEIRD about giving you extra towels). I really loved how they cleaned up our rooms every day too. Of course they did all the normal things (fresh towels, beds made) but they also folded up my son's blankies and put our toothbrushes that were just laying on the counter on a washcloth; little touches like that are really what makes this place great. They really know how to take care of the guests there.

The only thing I didn't like was at check in, they place a $25 hold on your credit card, even if (like us) you paid in full beforehand. I hadn't seen this anywhere until I got there and was confused about what it was for (they explained that it is for anything you may charge to your room or something like that) but they give you the option to decline this hold, which we did. Also, if traveling with babies, not having a microwave in your room for warm milk or formula was a bit of a challenge (my 18 month old still has warm milk before bed), but this wasn't really an issue, as we were close to the main check in area, which had a microwave, and gave my husband a nice chance to take an evening walk by himself.

Room Tip: We had a "woods view room" which was more private, but we could still see the Ashley River...
See more room tips
Green Features: SO nice to see more places "going green". They really strive to recycle, not use tons of water, etc.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your families’ thoughts on your stay and I’m glad to hear staff was helpful and considerate! We have a very hard working housekeeping team that does an outstanding job in an outstanding location. The elements they must deal with are challenging but your kind words will help reassure them to keep working hard! We do place an authorization on the credit card on file upon check-in for all our guests, unless upon seeing the notice and being instructed, they refuse, as you did. This basic hotel function is only to verify authenticity of your card. We hope to welcome you and your family again soon, each season at Middleton offers something different! All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much. We are local to the area and decided that it would be nice to try something that is close by. We made the right decision. The accommodation's were a little rustic but very nice and clean. you could stay the whole weekend with lots of things to do and never leave the plantation. We had a blast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Middleton Place on our honeymoon at the end of June. The stay was a completely unique experience that I highly recommend. The guest rooms themselves are excellent – Two of the bedroom’s walls are glass, and the bathroom has a wonderful oversized bathtub. And the price is very reasonable since the room rate includes free admission to Middleton Place, an evening reception with complementary local beer and hors d'oeuvres, and a continental breakfast the next morning. Further, the staff at both the Inn and at Middleton Place far exceeded our expectations in the service they provided.

It’s important to remember, though, that the Inn is a retreat tucked away on a gravel road thirty minutes outside historic Charleston. For me, this just added to the wonderful ambiance of the place. The architecture is some of the most interesting work that I have seen in all my travels. But you are definitely in the woods and can expect to see wildlife; just remember that it’s their home too so don’t provoke them and you’ll be fine. Also note that on-site dinner options are limited to their ‘Dinner and a Movie’ special on Mondays, but the suburbs are just ten minutes away and have plenty of additional dining options.

Fitting with the retreat theme, the rooms do not come with the clutter you would expect at many large hotel chains. You will not find massive TVs with gimmicky in-room entertainment. Instead, you will find a nice jar of bath salts to help you relax after a long day of taking in the beauty of the gardens. Fair trade? I think so. Our room also had a fireplace, which we did not use given the summer heat; but which would be lovely in the Fall. And, if you really need to get in touch with the outside world, there is complementary Wi-Fi.

You are free to explore Middleton Place at any time throughout your stay. We visited the grounds once after we checked in, and again the following day. The gardens are simply breathtaking. History buffs will enjoy hearing the story of the Middletons on the house tour, which is also included with your stay at the Inn. The farmyard has many animals that are a joy for children and those young at heart. There are several guided tours that we did not get a chance to take, but which sounded interesting.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Middleton Place and hope to stay there again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: We obtained an excellent rate by booking three-months out on a paid in advance reservation.
See more room tips
Green Features: I commend the hotel for all their environmentally-friendly practices. They contribute nicely to the unique (good) ambiance of the inn.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for a romantic one night get-away that was close by. This is off the beaten path, mind you - but close to Charleston.

The room was huge! Loved the REAL fireplace. The bathtub is HUGE!!! Its very rustic and quint. NOBODY was at the resort when we traveled. We didn't notice very many guests which added to our romantic get-away.

It poured down rain the whole weekend, but, we didn't mind. We lit the fire on the cool night and enjoyed the open windows and the sounds of the river and the forest!

The restaurant on the property is very very good. We are foodies and this is some of the best food I've ever enjoyed! The salad was made from some of the produce grown on the plantation also, we were told the herbs that seasoned some of the dishes were grown there as well.

We can't wait to come back with our bikes and ride around the plantation! Hopefully we will have better weather on our return visit!!!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river! We did!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baruba_juba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We are a little late writing this review as we stayed their last fall. It was amazing. The room was large, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom had all the usual amenities plus extra. The staff was great, the grounds beautifully looked after. The cost of the room included admission to the plantation, a reception with food and wine/beer and the most delicious breakfast. Home made loaves to die for. We also had dinner in their restaurant. I was not really starving and wanted a salad for my main course and they were very accommodating. They were out of bread so they sent a cheese tray. We would go back to this place in a heartbeat. Definitely got more than our monies worth so to speak.
Laurel & Robert, Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here because my daughter had recommended it. The rooms were large, very clean, quiet, and well equipped. We loved walking the beautiful gardens in the evening and early morning. The history and animals added to the intrigue. We were out late both nights so we missed the social hour with food and drinks, but we were very happy that the lodge was open for light food late into the evening after we got stuck in town because of bad weather. It is about a 25 minute drive to see the sights of Charleston but I thought it was worth it,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Property: Inn at Middleton Place
Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing