We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most interesting hotel I have ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went in February and the weather was in the 60's, very ideal for hiking their beautiful grounds. Welcoming reception was nice, very cozy lodge. They have old games to play by the fireplace in your own room! Best part of the room is the fireplace and huge bathtub. It's like a small pool! The hotel is out of this world. It was not at all what I thought it would be by the picture, not disappointed at all. It was more rustic/minimalistic style, never have seen anything like it. The healthy start breakfast was good and included in your room rate. The biggest perk is you get free access to the Middleton place plantation. That saves you at least $50 dollars. We ate lunch at the plantation that you can easily hike to from your hotel. The lunch was really good. Loved the soup. It was a truly unique experience.

Room Tip: I would pick one on the 2nd floor. We had a ground room and the people above us were loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed over Christmas, my husband and I loved the grounds and the cabin. We loved being able to make our own fire every night, it is quaint and a great place to take a family. We enjoyed the evening social and the entire staff was very nice and very attentive to our needs. I will recommend this to anyone asking about places to stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FUN5IZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After many visits to Charleston and staying at many quaint and historic venues downtown, we now love to come to the Inn at Middleton Place for a serene and beautiful night's stay, not to mention the great value. It is close enough to downtown to go there any time but the natural surroundings of Middleton Place cannot be beat. The rooms have a modern and definitely European flair, and super comfy beds. The rooms are very quiet with beautiful views and fireplaces. And a definite plus for me - the thermostats actually do control the room temp! There is also a fantastic and free happy hour, and great breakfast. A really nice restaurant at Middleton Plantation is just a short stroll through the woods on a well-lit gravel path (in case you had a wee bit too much at happy hour, no driving is necessary). We try to take the horseback ride when we are there & this time were rewarded with an extra long ride showcasing numerous wildlife including a bald eagle, herons, woodstorks, and alligators. The horses are well cared for and sweet. I cannot say enough about this place! They truly think of everything!

Room Tip: Woods views are very nice but the best choice is a river-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I wanted to stay someplace totally different from any of the many hotels I have been at. My sister has never been to So. Carolina, so I wanted her to see the uniqueness of the places to stay. From the time we arrived - such very VERY fiendly girls at the registration - to the check out...I can not say enough about this stay.

The room was huge with these amazing floor to ceiling shutters. I suggest getting the room facing the Ashley river so you can leave the shutters open all the time...they were beautiful. Because it was unseasonably cold, we were very pleased to find not only a fireplace, BUT the cutest starter kit to have a fire AND a nice rack of firewood outside.

The bathroom is HUGE with this extremely large tube. No so good for lazing in because it is tiled and not recessed enough to really feel like you could lay back. BUT the shower was wonderful and the bathroom was really set up perfectly.

You have a little fridge so you can have drinks and cold things easy enough.

DRAWBACK...I do not undrestand why ANYONE would build a two story building - thank goodness we did not say in a three story buidling - with such terribly TERRIBLY steep steps....they were horrible to carry luggage up and down and with a bum knee, was the worst part of the entire trip. Being in So. Carolina for six days, you don't exactly pack an overnight bag. This was truly a horrible experience.

The grounds are amazing. We did not eat at the restaurant because for my taste, this catered more to the upper crust person, you know the plates with the little tiny item, but pretty drippings on the plate and a garnish bigger than the main course LOL, but we did check it out and believe me, even the staff there was so hospitable.

AND you have got to check out the amazingly HUMONGO oak tree there...37 feet around...it is unlike anything I have ever seen...truly amazing.

There are animals there, peacocks, sheep, etc.

There is a garden center and market that had really unique items all helping local farmers and/or artists.

I can not tell you how lovely this place was.

PROS
Out of the way so quiet and relaxing
HUGE bathtub so for couples could be very romantic
room has comfy bed and was just beautiful, not toooo over decorated
fireplace and supplies
amazing grounds and gardens...wish it was warmer to enjoy

CONS
could be a bit isolated for families with kids.
could be a bit scary at night because not well lit and there are gators around
WORST STAIRS EVER...NO ELEVATOR.

They really should tear out the stairs and make them better, take them out and bring down the steepness of them.

Room Tip: If you are not uncomfortable with lower level, then don't attempt the stairs. Choose a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenwolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! It is important for potential guests to get a great constructive review of a past stay! The views of the Ashley River were meant to be the “real” decoration for the rooms; the architect didn’t even want pictures hung inside originally! The Middleton Place Restaurant offers outstanding fare at reasonable prices, especially considering the cost of downtown Charleston. We are lucky to have them available for guests. If you choose to visit again, please allow us to help with your luggage to make that entrance smoother for you, as you stated, with such a accommodating staff we are here and available to take care of this aspect for guests. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me personally with any questions. All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Staying at the Inn, we parked once for a two night stress relieving visit. A week day visit avoids crowds; and two nights allows time to see everything and relax. The real deal is the Inn rate include full tickets to Middleton Place. Walking over to Middleton Place is delightful along the natural trail beside the Ashley River.
The Inn was designed by a Charleston architect who made the rooms feel like a tree house overlooking the river or the woods. Others reviewed amenities being a little worn, but the light and modern design of these rooms puts you in a very sophisticated space, fully thought out to give you light, space and privacy and still interplay with the natural environment. I envy the bathroom design, a luxurious soaker tub/huge shower made of tiles with a glass block wall that gives light and openness. The room’s wall of windows is covered in plantation shutters that can open to full view or close to total darkness. The fireplace and its poker and grate are a sculpture on one wall, facing the bed. Wall lights flank the bed for comfortable reading. Skip TV for once, and spend your evening reading or listening to your IPod near your wood fire. Outside, Climbing Fig on the stucco parts of the buildings anchors them in the natural landscape. A healthy start breakfast is served in the Lake House with windows along the Ashley River. Bicycles and kayaks and horses are available and the Lodge is also open for sandwiches, drinks and coffee, near an outdoor pool.
I was very impressed by the Equestrian Center and trail riding operation. Miles of trails and the trail horses looked very well kept, tack in excellent condition. We walked along the Ashley to Middleton Place and signed in for our carriage ride and a tour of the house. Everyone, down to the man filling potholes, greets you and is pleasant and helpful. This a special place where staff and volunteers all love the place, it is charmed; and they tell the story of the plantation as if it is home. You can certainly see the place without tour guides, but it is well worth the price of the ticket to be involved and to have the history of the place interpreted to you. We loved the Inn and plan to return, especially at this time of year!

Room Tip: Room facing the river is lovely. We liked the second floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madjac355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I enjoyed a weekend of solitude at the Inn at Middleton Place. A retreat from the city, and a night of quiet enjoyment. If you are looking for a romantic setting, alone or with company, the Inn at Middleton Place offers just that! The morning after my stay I did a private tour of Middleton Plantation -- surely among the best of the Old South.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollinatorvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Even if you live in Charleston, you would find Middleton Place a retreat from the world. With it's extensive grounds and activities, this surreal property is certainly an experience we will never forget. Way out of town, a beautiful drive on a busy road leads to another world. Certainly a site of much hardship in the past, walking its paths, touring its main house, and exploring its waterways transports one into the history of the south. Formerly a rice plantation, this place brings alive all that I learned at Charleston's excellent museum.

What to do and what to skip; do bring good walking shoes and use them, don't bother taking the horse-drawn tour through the unintersting back forty. Do have the complimentary breakfast, don't forget your flashlight or your wallet if you try to walk to dinner. Do get home in time for the community happy hour (great local beers,) don't come home without take-out or snacks for the rest of the evening. Do have your camera and photograph throughout the day as the lighting changes, don't expect luxurious rooms or elevators to steep 2nd stories. Do have a car to get from here to town, don't let any of my "don'ts" discourage you from coming here at least once i your life!

Great place for a small conference, romantic getaway, or traveler passing through the south on their way to Savannah or Williamsburg.

Room Tip: If you stay on the 2nd floor, be sure to be fit - difficult climb. We booked through Sniqueaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faithcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,831 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $170 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing