We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but not in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Middleton Place to your Saves list
Inn at Middleton Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10% Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Even if you live in Charleston, you would find Middleton Place a retreat from the world. With it's extensive grounds and activities, this surreal property is certainly an experience we will never forget. Way out of town, a beautiful drive on a busy road leads to another world. Certainly a site of much hardship in the past, walking its paths, touring its main house, and exploring its waterways transports one into the history of the south. Formerly a rice plantation, this place brings alive all that I learned at Charleston's excellent museum.

What to do and what to skip; do bring good walking shoes and use them, don't bother taking the horse-drawn tour through the unintersting back forty. Do have the complimentary breakfast, don't forget your flashlight or your wallet if you try to walk to dinner. Do get home in time for the community happy hour (great local beers,) don't come home without take-out or snacks for the rest of the evening. Do have your camera and photograph throughout the day as the lighting changes, don't expect luxurious rooms or elevators to steep 2nd stories. Do have a car to get from here to town, don't let any of my "don'ts" discourage you from coming here at least once i your life!

Great place for a small conference, romantic getaway, or traveler passing through the south on their way to Savannah or Williamsburg.

Room Tip: If you stay on the 2nd floor, be sure to be fit - difficult climb. We booked through Sniqueaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faithcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Siler City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The rooms were a little dated but the atmososphere was great. The televisions are very outdated as well the channel selection. The property was great. The gardens although to early to be in bloom were awesome. Unfortunatley we were there on a weekend when the old Middleton PLace was closed for renevations. The inn is just minutes from Charleston ans attractions. if you want to walk back thru time this is a nice weekend retreat

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quiet. Rooms facing the Ashley river are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachmen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I read a few of the other reviews and it is interesting to see different thoughts. They are pretty up front about the rustic setting. Its true that the rooms could use a little updating, but we never turned on the TV. There was so much to see, we spent most of our time outdoors, even in January. It is the most beautiful setting you could ask for. With full access to the Plantation any time of day and a good breakfast we felt the price was worth it. If you like building a fire in your own room, this is great. Bath salts are provided for the huge tub and the hot water never ran low. The tub tiles are white and the grout is black, not moldy. I'm pretty picky in that area and we enjoyed soaking in the tub. The staff was friendly and always helpful.we did a nature walk and the house tour. The guides were so nice and many are volunteers. My husband and I both agreed that it was the most relaxing weekend we could have had. Thank you Middleton Place!

Room Tip: The important thing for us was the river view, and we got what we expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Despite the rooms themselves needing a bit of an update in certain small areas (bathroom mirrors, televisions, wifi), this is truly an amazing complex. Situated perfectly on the Ashley, the location is close enough to the historic district to allow for all of the touristy activites down there, and far enough away to give one a sense of what it used to be like in the Old South. The access to the plantation and gardens that is included with the reservation is a great perk. The rooms are very interesting, with shutters that can be opened to give a floor-to-ceiling view of the Ashley, as well as absolutely huge modern bathrooms. For a first time Charleston visitor, I would recommend a few days in the historic district as well as a couple of days here. Our only complaints were that service could have been better at the morning breakfasts and their could have been better signage indicating directions to the various points of interest around the hotel complex (where breakfast was, path to the gardens, stables, etc.).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vitisvinifera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is the most amazing place. My wife and I enjoyed 2 nights here, the most relaxing time we have had in years. The inn itself is a modernist architectural treasure and the grounds are magnificent.

Don't plan on 5 star accommodations, this place is not pretentious. It is simple, comfortable, easy going and so much fun. The design of the place is minimal, furnishings are geared to simplicity and comfort. Our room had a fireplace, the largest tub I have ever seen, and large bathroom. Breakfast was great and included real food, like bacon, eggs and sausage.

We opted for a package that included full access to Middleton Place including the historic house and gardens. The place is stunning, flowers everywhere and endless pathways. The formal gardens and wooded trails make you a part of the history of this historic home and its owner, a signer of the Declaration of Independence. Rice fields, ponds, waterfowl and alligators compliment the formal gardens. Bicycles are available at the Inn, I explored the trails for hours.

The restaurant at Middleton Place is great, food is available at the Inn and at the Garden Shop. We did not leave for 2 days.

I highly recommend Middleton Inn, plan to relax and enjoy. Best weekend we have had in years.

Room Tip: Several views available. Staff told me the rooms in Building 4 afford the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FMD54184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at the MP Inn for four days between xmas and new years. We got two rooms, one for the wife and I, and one for our teenage boys. Rooms were very small and basic. Beds were not very comfy and bathrooms were clean but out dated. I expected more for $175 a nite per room. Setting is very nice in the trees overlooking the water. Breakfast was fine but very basic. Inn grounds were nothing special (but we did visit in winter). I am sure they are better in Spring. Inn would be great for a couple on a quiet weekend getaway and for people that don't value creature comforts very much. Would not stay again. We would have been better staying at a downtown Charlestown hotel and geting a 2-room suite.
The maid staff were wonderful and friendly but the breakfast and front desk staff need some lesson in customer service. Rude to everyone we spoke with!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Inn is located on the grounds of the Middleton Plantation. The setting leaves you speechless and tranquil. Our lodge-style room with working fireplace set the tone perfectly for our romantic holiday getaway. The tub in the Ashley Suite is the size of a twin bed both in length and width and can be enjoyed by two!
It's a luxury find in the middle of the woods. I can't wait to return in the spring!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afern23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,304 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#18 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,104 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, The Inn at Middleton Place, Charleston SC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#