We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Old, Tired, Shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rustic, Old, Tired, Shabby”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

No elevator, many stairs to 2nd floor, soft beds, old, small TV, water tastes terrible, poorly lighted. Marble, European bath - ha! - it's old, cheap ceramic tile. Too far from town on narrow, unlighted road. All that said, the place was probably very nice 25 years ago, but maintenance is obviously lacking. The type of place you would expect for the third or fourth owner who wants to milk what little life is left in their investment without putting anything more into it.

We are booked to stay two nights, but will try to get out today. Wish me luck.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Goodness guest, I hope your review isn’t a personal vendetta! To clarify, yes, we have no elevators and yes, their would need to be stairs without them! We are 14 miles from town and if the road is narrow that really isn’t the fault of ours now is it? Constant maintenance and upgrades occur daily. I welcome you to contact me directly to discuss your unsupported and false claims, and if not, then I welcome potential guests concerned about your comments to contact a member of management for the truth. I wish you the best for you and yours. Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    325
    131
    73
    36
See reviews for
252
865
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

At first, we were apprehensive that the modern architecture in such a historic setting would not be pleasing. Quite the contrary. First, the inn is not that close to the historical buildings of the plantation, and it fits so well into the natural setting. Also on the front side, it reminds you of old ruins. Very unique and very fitting.
The views of the Ashley River and marsh are breathtaking and the walk to the plantation house, gardens and restuarant is beautiful. The absolute best part is that as a guest of the inn, you can walk over and all around the gardens in the morning and in the late afternoon/evening when it is closed to the public! You have it all to yourself! Lots of wildlife and again breath-taking views all around.
The manager's reception every evening with complimentary beer and wine is perfect and fireplaces in the rooms with plenty of firewood and the floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the river - well, who could ask for more. Staff was wonderful, very helpful, but did not hover and respected your "quiet time". Rooms were nice rustic.
Only negative is that this may not be the best place for someone not able to do a lot of walking as they would miss out on a lot that this place offers. The perfect place for people who love the outdoors and quiet.

Room Tip: A river view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I booked our anniversary weekend through SniqueAway at The Inn at Middleton Place. The grounds are very rustic- I even told my husband it felt like "expensive camping". If you are looking for a super luxurious hotel, look elsewhere. The room was pretty basic, but still very nice, the fireplace is a wonderful touch. We loved the cocktail hour, free beer/wine and snacks. Middleton Place is beautiful- we enjoyed spending a full day exploring the gardens and house. The views from the Inn and all over Middleton Place are incredible and make the stay well worth it. Overall, we had a very relaxing trip and enjoyed ourselves very much. It's no where near historic Charleston though, so if you are looking to explore the city, you should stay in the city, not at Middleton Place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights at the Inn. The architecture is interesting, the room was inviting and warm (esp. since we were there in the fall when the fireplace is open for us and they provide a starter and plenty of wood), the staff was helpful and friendly, and there were lots of extra touches that made our stay wonderful. We rented a woods view queen room and were happy with the view. I don't think I'd pay extra for the river view. Our room was the least expensive so we had to wooden chairs and an end table and then a small desk with wooden desk chair. If you can spare the extra money, a room with a sofa would have been even nicer. We loved having windows all around, or shutters, if we wanted to have privacy. They give you water bottles and a nut mix as well as coffee and tea with the coffee maker. Breakfast is also included: delicious quick breads, apples, oranges or bananas, yogurt with granola, other breads and eng. muffins with butter and jam, etc. If you want a hot breakfast, there is a charge. It's a pleasant building overlooking the river where breakfast is served. In the evening, there was a fire going in the lodge/lobby building and there was a reception including drinks and a very nice cheese/fruit plate and some other small things. There are games available to play and of course, the admission to the house museum, stable and gardens is included. Not much blooming in Oct. but we still enjoyed it. I would recommend it highly....lovely property. We needed an extension cord (older building so not enough outlets) but someone delivered one promptly. There were a few small housekeeping issues but I mentioned it to the staff and I"m sure it was resolved. The bed is a little soft (but that could vary by room). The blanket on the bed was kind of oldish looking but there was a nicer one in the closet.

Room Tip: The woods view rooms seem to have just as nice of a view for the money in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plain1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A lovely staycation for our family of 4 ages 6, 9 and parents. We stayed in a Queen size grand river view room. We had a fire each evening and were quite cozy. The Queen bed was not the most comfortable but the kids slept well on the pull out couch. The rooms are a bit rustic but a rather nice size. Pets are allowed with a $50 per stay (not night) fee if under 50#. The Inn lets you walk the grounds of the plantation throughout your entire stay. We loved it and had been before. The restaurant was excellent for dinner one evening and you can easily walk the trail, although bring a flashlight (included in each room) for the walk back as the path is dimly lit. Also don't miss the reception from 5-7 each evening in the lodge. Overall an excellent value and hidden gem.

Room Tip: The Grand room with a river view is your best bet. Queen rooms have a sleeper sofa and offer a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonBlueSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

And that's a distinction that's important. It's not Ritz-Carlton glammy or Holiday Inn Express efficient. It's a collection of big and comfortable studio-apartment-sized rooms in a gorgeous setting of mossy oaks and weepy magnolias, alongside a scenic river 20-30 minutes from downtown Charleston. We arrived on the eve of a hurricane scare and it was very dark, making the half-mile drive from the check-in desk to our building a bit of a mystery tour. I found the room, propped open the door and went back to get luggage. When we re-arrived a small frog greeted us from just inside the entrance. The room had a nice fireplace with wood and a fire-lighter brick (alas, no kindling), a comfortable bed, nice old wooden (a bit sticky from waxing) floors and a wall of windows that allowed great natural light the next morning. The late night sandwich at the close-by lounge (fancy restaurant closed at 9) was pretty basic but the lady who toasted and served it was nice. Breakfast was a 500-yard walk to a separate lake house building with decent free cold and not-free hot options. Lots to do on and around the spacious and lovely grounds. We're coming back to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved the unique design and configuration of the Inn at Middleton Place. Very different from the traditional B&B. The room was spartan, in a good and intentional way...very relaxing...brought the focus to the view of the river. It felt very private. The only negatives (which were minor) were that the water smelled in the bathroom and that we could hear occasionally the footsteps of the guests above us. The overwhelming experience, though, was great. The breakfast was a generous continental breakfast; the happy hour was terrific and extremely generous. Staff were gracious and helpful, and went out of their way to suggest local activities that we might enjoy. We also enjoyed the short walk to the Plantation for excellent tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travalgal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
925 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Property: Inn at Middleton Place
Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing