We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Bravo Middleton. I booked our family reunion here and the rooms were large, clean and rustically lovely. The Value was super since our fee included happy hour wine and beer and munchies everyday, a wonderful continental breakfast and tickets to the garden and mansion tour. The best deal in town!!!
Everyone was blown away by the customer service, smiles from staff and eagerness to help.
We even did the leisurely kayak trip on the Ashley. And the food at Middleton Gardens Restaurant was absolutely incredible, and we are foodies who know great stuff!
If you want to spend your time in downtown Charleston...stay down there, but if you wish for place away from the race, overlooking marshlands, seeing the Gardens all along the Ashley, trust me, you won't want to leave!

Room Tip: choose the river view and look out over a gorgeous marsh that changes color with the setting sun. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVHOST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    333
    138
    76
    38
See reviews for
259
891
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Inn was perfect for our needs..Out of sight and away from it all. This place might not be an option for everyone but if offers many options that other locations do not - it is very peaceful for those who want to escape; the abilty to tour the grounds at your lesiure allows you to take your time and soak in the area (included with your room); Managers reception between 5-7p was great - nice snacks along with juices, coffee, beer or wine provided. You are only 5miles away from town if you do not want to eat at the resturant. A nice healthy start breakfast is provided but you can opt for a hot meal (chef's choice). We had a river view which was very nice. There is condensation on the windows because the humidity outside meeting up with the colder windows because of the room AC. The floor to ceiling window shutters are nice and some might need repair but it did not distract from the experience...We are looking forward to a return visit..My only problem was we wanted to tour the house in the morning at 10a because we needed to get on the road at 11a but they were booked with the next avail time at 11a. We got there at 915a so it was disappointing. There should be a optional time for quests at the Inn to have a private tour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Inn at Middleton Place is celebrating its 25th anniversary and it looks and feels like nothing has been done to it since it first opened. Floors and area rug were stained and dirty. Bathroom needs serious updating. The shower was terrible. Shutters on the windows were broken, couldn't see out of the windows...needed a good cleaning inside and out. Very disappointed and would never go back. The gardens were beautiful though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnK2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
In the midst of so many great reviews, yours is a disappointment guest! I am truly sorry that the Inn was not the place for you and that you didn't leave as so many of my guests do; happy. I hope you gave my management team an opportunity to hear your issues, but if not, please know that we work hard every day to provide an experience for guests. With the value packed rates we offer (Middleton Place admission, Healthy Start Breakfast and Evening Reception all included) it is easy to do just that. I would love an opportunity to speak to you further, especially about the on-going refresh and remodel we are currently conducting. I hope to hear from you. Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldvein, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We made a bit of an error and thought we were booking a bed & breakfast in downtown Charleston...we had dialed several different places, very last minute. When the confirmation email came in from Inn at Middleton Place, rather than cancel, we decided to try it. It was WONDERFUL. We stayed three days, enjoyed breakfast and the manager's reception, trail riding, Middleton Place (just a short walk through the woods), the Wine Stroll through the plantation Gardens, and the best fine dining you could hope for at the plantation restaurant.

Room Tip: River View Rooms were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first trip to the Charleston area and we couldn't have been more fortunate to stay at such a charming place. With a second floor room, the trees, being on the river and a wall of windows overlooking it all when we awoke each morning it was like we'd been sleeping in the trees. It was a wonderful feeling and way to get the day started. Having your ticket to the plantation included was fantastic. The plantation is a short walk along the river and is a beautiful place to spend the day. Wildlife is abundant from turtles, alligators and numerous species of birds. We had lunch at the plantation restaurant overlooking a beautiful pond. The food was good and I'd recommend including this as part of your stay. The daily continental breakfast which is included was the best I've ever experienced and the staff there at the lodge couldn't have been more cordial welcoming you each morning and providing assistance if needed. The rooms are large and quiet and the setting on the property is tranquil and beautiful. Plentiful outside seating is provided to just enjoy the views of the river or you can relax in a hammock among the trees. I would say if you're into watching TV and having a variety of channels to watch then you'll be disappointed. For such a large room it had an old 19 inch CRT TV with only about 10 channels to choose from with very few of those being the more popular cable channels. This feature didn't take away from our stay as the atmosphere just makes you want to relax with a good book and enjoy the day.

Room Tip: Don't think you will be disappointed in either of the two room view (woods or river) choices. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Inn is located in a wooded area, just a short stroll to the plantation. The contrast of historic and modern is done brilliantly. All the rooms have one wall of floor to ceiling windows with shutter enclosures. The views are fantastic. WiFi and cable tv included. The bathroom is quite unique with a huge tile tub/shower and lots of amenities. The complimentary evening reception (wine, cheese/crackers, fresh fruit) and the complimentary breakfast are an added bonus. But when you consider that the price of admission to Middleton Place is included as well, this is a fabulous value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you want to stay outside of Charleston then The Inn at Middleton Place is for you. For your money you get unlimited access to the beautiful Middleton Place Plantation, a great room, breakfast, an evening wine reception and alligators just feet away! Really worth every penny you pay. We will be back next year, it's already been decided!

Room Tip: Get a room which faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,782 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Property: Inn at Middleton Place
Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing