We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Knoxville, Tn
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love this Place!!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed there 11 years ago and just now got back again. The price was reasonable and the room was fabulous!! It is a distance into town but I LOVED the quiet and serenity. It is a beautiful piece of property and the staff was great! The Inn is not something you would expect on a plantation but it is very zen like and peaceful. The rooms are very spacious, hardwood floors, clean, beautiful natural lighting, the bathroom spacious, love the shower and I had a fabulous time. The pool was nice. The visit to the gardens are phenomenal, a wonderful piece of history. The walk to the gardens are breath talking. Who couldn't love it, maybe a picky curmudgeon! I will definitely go back, but for a longer time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneof5Knoxville_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    329
    138
    74
    37
See reviews for
253
881
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The first thing that intrigued us about the Inn at Middleton Place was the special access to Middleton Plantation. If you are planning on spending the day at the plantation this is the way to do it! The room rate includes two passes into the plantation which is a considerable value. Upon arrival we also saw how special the Inn is on it's own. As soon as you pull up there are horse stables and the peacefulness just starts sinking in. Located on the Ashley River you have unobstructed views in almost every direction. The huge oaks trees and the hammocks an amazing touch. Our room was clean and cozy while still maintaining a rustic and tucked away feel. Our only complaint was the the grout in the shower needed to be re-done, but overall we felt that was a minimal complaint. They also shut down the fireplaces for the spring and summer, and were disappointed that we couldn't use it during early spring when the weather can still be cold. The staff was friendly and they have a cocktail hour serving cheese and wine in the main building. They also have kayak rentals and board games and a few other special touches. Breakfast was also included and we thought it was very nice. In a huge room with floor to ceiling windows that look out into a creek and lush greenery. We did stay on a weeknight which made the room much more affordable and the grounds less busy. We wouldn't hesitate to come back and enjoy more relaxation on the Ashley River. It was a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

At first, we picked Middleton Place because we thought "hey, this will be different!" - and it did not disappoint on that front. I have to laugh now but at the time, I was pretty unsettled by the bugs and the slightly Southern Gothic goes camping vibe. Perhaps it was because we did not know that many a New Age-y retreat is hosted here, during peak season, and that it is primarily a conference center and not a romantic Plantation Inn. Oh well. Live and learn and then write on TripAdvisor to warn others!

Upon arrival, we were shocked to find the place quite literally deserted. We saw perhaps one other car on the property, once we waited thirty minutes for someone to arrive at the gate house/check-in counter. If it weren't for being in the middle of the woods with no overnight guard, 'secluded' would have been fine and romantic even. This was wayyyy too Robinson Crusoe for me. The giant palmetto bugs (which we were warned about, I admit) only added to the atmosphere and guaranteed a sleepless night from me. The grounds of the "inn" are in need of restoration. You literally are in the swamps when you leave your unit - which had some pretty massive poisonous spiders who made their home in the stairwells. I'm not a freak about bugs in general but this was really alarming. We don't have these suckers in New Jersey.

The room itself was spacious - very rustic and charming. I can see the fireplace being lovely in the winter. It must be romantic (kind of like the Poconos where we live) when you're not scared to death to use the bathroom as giant bugs are crawling out of the drain. The bathroom was quite lovely and huge! It had a Japanese zen feel. I wanted to like the whole property but I just couldn't get over the isolation and run down appearance.

However, it is totally worth the price of admission - and the overnight thrills - since you can walk to the neighboring Middleton Place (the plantation with passes included in overnight rate.) That was spectacular, even in the July rain and humidity. I want to go back in the spring when it's is in bloom to see it in all its glory. The restaurant there was wonderful - not super atmospheric but then the panoramic windows speak for themselves. We dined while looking over the small lake (did I mention the live gators everywhere? very cool!). Some amazing history to be learned and Middleton is amazingly intact.

All in all, this was quite the adventure. Not as luxurious as the books and website make it out to be but worth it for the admission to the plantation grounds and a great overnight stop en route to Charleston. Continental breakfast is in the conference room on the lake, about a five minute walk from the main lodge. It was basic - cereal, fruit - but the facilities were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PallasAthena08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I know the economy is making everyone cut corners but I think the management at Middleton Place needs to take a closer look at the many things that need repair. The rooms need a total facelist, especially the bathrooms as they are really wearing out after all these years. The outside needs painting and cleaning. Room amenities are non existent. Bathrobes would be nice, better toiletries, better towels. The bathrooms need regrouting. Otherwise the service is good and of course, the ambience is wonderful. Don't let it go to disrepair.

Room Tip: Pay more for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Fantastic, one-of-a-kind, peaceful, beautiful - that is how I describe this very unique property. We stayed at the Inn during a beautiful May weekend. (For those not in the know, May and October are the best months to visit South Carolina). The rooms certainly need some simple updating, and the televisions are pathetic, but overall, this is a really wonderful property that I highly recommend. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrDaddySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The outside of our room (doorway and windows) was draped in spiderwebs with fallen leaves stuck in them. The inside smelled of the wood burning fireplace which was now closed for the season. However the birds that lived in the chimney didn't know it was closed. The tile in the bathroom was chipped in several places and the backing of silver on the mirror was missing and pealing at the the edges. The cold marble bathroom floor had NO rug to stand on in bare feet but the rug in the bedroom area was stained or maybe the spots were burn marks from embers from the fireplace. The icing on the cake in this room was the cockroach dying the corner the first morning we woke up. Should I bother to talk about the old bikes whose seats kept tilting as we rode or the trails on which we were supposed to follow that weren't mowed to even easy to find? We had to walk to the restaurants, social area and registration while constantly swatting bugs! I didn't sign up for camping! The employees were so kind and friendly but just couldn't make up for the overall experience. Unfortunate.

Room Tip: Ask for riverview, upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cricket4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Memorable historic Charleston experience AND a decent price. I went into this thinking of it as a rustic cabin/condo rental rather an a hotel. If you are looking for plushy/fancy hotel or nightlife, this is not it. If you want to escape the city, but still experience Charleston, this tastefully simple option is it! We arrived well before check-in (4 pm) and received our free admissions to the gardens & museum and gave our cell phone to be called when the room was ready (330 pm). Everything is a little old, but not in a dated or bad way. Our river view room had wifi, tv, hair dryer, coffee maker, mini-fridge with free bottled water, and hardwood/tile floors. All rooms have outdoor access and shutters on the wall of windows. Although there was a distinct fireplace smell, it was subtle and charming and didn't bother me at all (and I'm pretty picky!). The bathroom, with black grout tile, is a little odd, but was clean and large. We enjoyed the pool, nature trails, complimentary wine & appetizer reception/breakfast, and the river view, but the best part was the after/before access to Middleton Place grounds. Like your own private garden! We awoke to chirping birds and dewy morning sun. It takes about 20 minutes to get into the city but is totally worth it.

Room Tip: We booked the Historic Getaway Package
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calliehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,765 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Property: Inn at Middleton Place
Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing