We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal”
Review of Macaroon Boutique

Macaroon Boutique
Ranked #9 of 18 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Description: Follow your nose to this authentic boutique. A mouthful of heaven, where all pastries are baked on premises, fresh and delicious. Open the door of this pastries' paradise in the heart of the Mazyck-Wraggborough neighborhood. So much love and talent in all that they are baking. Macaroon Boutique should be your first stop. Indulge yourself!
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Macaroon Boutique has the best macrons by far that I have had outside of France. I highly recommend a stop at this place to get at least six macrons and a pastry or two.

Helpful?
Thank heatherbgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    21
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Forget those gooey coconut things that some people pass off as macaroons. These are REAL French macaroons and they are to die for! The French chef/owner/proprietor is on hand - these folks are friendly, helpful, and make the best macaroons I've ever had in the U.S. Flavors: orange, raspberry, chocolate, pistachio, vanilla, and lemon. They also serve plain and chocolate croissants and a few other pastries. I visited twice in June and on my previous visit in November. I WILL go again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thequeenb615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We walked from King Street to John street to enjoy a TRUE macaroon. The macaroon's are fresh and the center is creamy. The owner was there to serve us with a smile! He is french and can make some amazing macaroon's! Shop and then go enjoy a special treat! Worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank marlin95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just ok!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The croissants were very good for the USA. We had both plain and chocolate. The Macaroon were terrible. You could taste the chemical food coloring and the filling was not good at all. Can't even compare to the ones all over France. The owner was very full of himself when ask where he was from in France, I was told I could read it in his up coming book?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“French bakery”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

this is a little bakery shop run by a passionate French baker, everything is delicious here, especially the macaroons, you should skip dessert at the restaurant and come here after dinner. You won't be sorry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jero52691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macaroon Boutique also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Macaroon Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing