We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macaroon Boutique

Macaroon Boutique
Ranked #10 of 20 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Follow your nose to this authentic boutique. A mouthful of heaven, where all pastries are baked on premises, fresh and delicious. Open the door of this pastries' paradise in the heart of the Mazyck-Wraggborough neighborhood. So much love and talent in all that they are baking. Macaroon Boutique should be your first stop. Indulge yourself!
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
269 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Walking the streets of Charleston I stumbeled upon this place. Never expected an authentic French macaron shop here. I have had these at Pierre Hernes in Paris, Lauderee in NYC and even in Tahiti, but Charleston? Run by a nice French couple these macaroni are very good. A bit on the small side but MUCH less expensive than anywhere else I have had these. The chicolate and pistachio were especially good. I went back today due the second time....

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twin123185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    20
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Macaroon heaven..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We walked past this shop and my husband wanted to go in and we left with a sampler of different 3 different flavors of macaroons. Each were so tasty and a indulgent little treat that packed a punch of the most wonderful flavor. I wish I had one right now.. sigh.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cascade98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Much more than macaroons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Wonderful french bakery about one block away from the downtown Embassy Suites hotel. The quality of the freshly-baked pastries and cakes was excellent! A much-enjoyed surprise!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcdh4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“I Will recommend it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

good and delicious macaroon! I went there with one of my friends and we bought 10 pieces. It's a little expensive but it's good! Stuff are just ok!

Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Croissant heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Charleston has a lot to offer, but this little french bakery is the best thing we discovered!
Finest croissants in different styles and tastes along with other pastry prepared by a true Parisian.
Finding this hidden gem after a walk through historic Charleston totally made our day. We tried three different types of croissant and they all were just out of this world. Fresh, crispy, buttery, true french croissants. We had such a nice chat with the owners and could feel their passion about their products. Whenever we come closer than 50 miles to Charleston again, we will make a detour and go to Macaroon and spoil ourselves. Don't miss out on these croissants. These are as french and as original as it can get.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abceschweitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macaroon Boutique also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Macaroon Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing