We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to do Charleston on the Cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
State College, PA
1 review
“Best way to do Charleston on the Cheap”
Reviewed June 2, 2010

As an american and frequent traveler, I found this place to be my own little slice of europe. I've stayed in many hostels around the world, but this one certainly has it's southern charms to it.

The Beds are what you expect from a hostel, but they have some pretty decent plastic coverings on the mattresses which made me feel better. The price was awesome. $23 for a bed and I walked to the center of downtown everyday. So for a partyer like myself, this was perfect.

In the morning you meet all the other hostelers at the free breakfast, and It was nice to be meeting australians, europeans and other americans. If you traveling solo, you'll probably end up grabbing a beer with these people. They have 2 brand new macs in the lobby for free internet, which was not what I expected. Free Parking was an added bonus and the staff was really friendly.....and hot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmatsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    144
    47
    51
    28
See reviews for
17
105
186
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I am 46 year old America female and have stayed in 100's of Hostels in Europe and a few in the US. Although the location is terrific, the place needs scrubbing, everyday people!!!! I never saw anyone cleaning anything. Closets full of stuff, windows that won't open, dust everywhere. When is the last time u washed the pillows on the hammock? The showers are small and if you look at the beautiful dark granite, u will c they need scrubbing....with human power!! not scrubbing bubbles. If you would DEEP-CLEAN this place you would be full year round. Schedule the front desk people to clean 4 hours a day at least. Don't rely on others picking up after themselves. It's America and we are still spoiled and still a bit lazy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2010

In a quiet part of town near the centre of Charleston, Notso is excellent value for a clean, basic room with breakfast (coffee plus unlimited bagels, muffins and organic jam). The best thing however has to be the friendly, thoughtful staff, who care about their guests and the house. It's cool in the heat, has an excellent bathroom and a lovely veranda/ balcony, hammock included. You can cruise into town easily on a bicycle which the hostel hire at a basic rate. Most impressed with an interesting group of people.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimHall_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I stayed at the NotSo Hostel for only a night as a solo traveler, but was able to make friends with others. I stayed in the Cuba bunk and it had all amenities that a simple house would and also some surprises left by previous travelers. I was able to cook and eat communally - it was a blast!
Everything was clean, sanitary, and I was in good company.
The NotSo Hostel workers were more than friendly and made sure I had everything I needed and let me make my own experience. Thanks, friends at NotSo Hostel! I can't wait to come back in a few months!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVidaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern, pa
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This is a great hostel. The staff was very nice to me and tried to help in any way they could. They know a lot about the town and were a big help. It is also very cheap compared to a hotel if you're on a budget. Thanks Notso Hostel!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc0tty98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Having stayed in hostels in Europe, Canada and other places in the U.S., we didn't have expectations of luxury. The place was clean and the room was small but adequate.
The two bathrooms in the main building were shared by quite a few people,. We had one miserable night and left as soon as possible in the morning, not waiting our turn to shower. The bed was a thin mattress set on a frame that had about four-five metal bars across, like sleeping on a rack. No box spring. No mattress pad. We tossed and turned all night and woke up feeling bruised (tiny people might not be quite as uncomfortable). I don't know what the beds in the other rooms were like - some people seemed to be staying for several nights.
The staff was good about unlocking the window so we could get some fresh air. The neighbor's car alarm went off a few times sometime in the night and there were people outside talking loudly until very late. Neighborhood wasn't one that I'd walk in, but didn't seem menacing, just noisy, but it was a Friday night.
Allergy alert: This doesn't apply to most people, but someone with allergies might have issues when the furnace is running. I don't know exactly what was in the air, but I got pretty sick by morning. Check it out before you check in.
We called later in the morning, after we left, and were promptly offered a refund of our second night after explaining the problem. Again, the staff does their best.
I'd like to recommend it because Charleston is a charming city and we love hostels, but really, it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyToes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Staff is quick, efficient and beautiful of heart. Hostel is delightfully quirky with much attention to being unique and different. Free breakfast with really good coffee starts the day right. Listen to the few guidelines given with respect and your freedom reigns. Troublemakers, don't bother coming. No Nonsense at the Notso Hostel.
Peace and beauty only.
Wish y'all Well,
William

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willmcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.5 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Francis Marion Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.1 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston's NotSo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Property: Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing